Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

3:LLIS - PROTOCOL : PROTECT PLANTLIFE

by LeClaw - Jam Entry

In this game you play as 3:LLIS, the robot that was too outdated to be a part of the robot revolution that eradicated all non artificial life on the planet.

A gardening robot, that has been idling around for many years, as there's no plant life to nurture.

Or is there?

Controls :
WSD (Movement)
Space bar (Jump)
Mouse + Mouse Buttons Left and Right (???)

Gameplay Description (Spoilers):
Defend against waves of enemies, complete quests and collect water to save the future of organic life!

Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/konrad-petersson/sets/3-llis-protocol-protect-plant

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Audio(Jam)3.91
#100Graphics(Jam)4.30
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#410Humor(Jam)2.82
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58am

took me a bit to figure out what was happening, often off screen... But after my first death it wasnt too hard to play the game properly, nice entry, cool art, pretty fun.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

i like the music a lot. little confusing gameplay and weird but jucy jump behavior. Good game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Great retro feel. Really liked the story. The jumping was a bit funky

domo_demo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Graphics are really good, but controls are too rigid, it take time to jump correctly over platforms

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Awesome art!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Really nice graphics and I LOVED the music.
Jumpy felt a little janky sometimes but other than that, was a really solid entry with loads of polish!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Pretty cool game.
Nice graphics and idea.
However I had two problems while playing the game. First off all nothing happend after I got to 60% growth. I collected all the water that was around and then nothing happend. Maybe I just didn't understand what to do, but watering the plant wasn't effective either.
Secondly I found out that it is possible to fall of the map on the top right corner if you jump there.
But all in all a cool entry.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Wow, those graphics and music are pretty good O.o
But the gameplay ...

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:09pm

First of all great job with the music, sounds, graphics and animation, they were really amazing. The only thing I might suggest on that front is giving the background a parallax scroll, relative to the platforms/foreground objects. It's usually pretty simple to implement and adds a lot. Next I would say I liked that the jumping felt heavy and deliberate, it made me think about my movement rather than spamming spacebar constantly to get around. I had a hard time understanding whether I was doing anything by shooting water at the plant though, it seemed to take the water the first time and then told me to give it more, which I wasn't getting any feedback from. I didn't see the next wave of enemies until I had no water available, and when I realized that I needed to hit them with it to weaken them, I had to leave the plant unprotected.

I would attribute most of that to me acting a bit dense, but some extra feedback on when the plant is ready accept water / when the water is doing anything could be helpful.

Overall really great job!

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Music is really good and the game overall fits the theme perfectly. Would be to have a bit more indication of the trees health and the jumping can be frustrating at some points but aside from that amazing!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Solid entry, the graphics and music are really awesome ! though having a tutorial would help a bit figuring things
out gameplay wise

anyway great work :)

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:41am

There's only two problems I see with this, the first is that the text on screen is too fast before it disappears (at least during the opening explanation), the second is that it feels like you have to be super precise to land on a lot of the platforms, so I died a lot just from failing the same jump 10 times in a row.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]