Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Tree

by Pantoufle - Jam Entry

Create your own Christmas decoration and put it on the tree for all other players to see!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#764Overall(Jam)3.04
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#899Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

I love the Idea ! Maybe it's a little too random, and 3 colors its not enough, but the concept is really really good and fun. Good job !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Nice idea and fitting to the time of the year. Since you can only place one decoration the editor should be a bit more complex, some more features like stamps or stuff. But it's a nice start!

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06pm

It would be kind of cool to see this as web app, where you could decorate with your friends online.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13pm

This is interesting...

teamvr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I really enjoyed the getting the ornament swinging in order to paint the bottom and I love that the tree is a social bulletin board!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Very cool idea! Let's see where this goes :-).

Garazbolg says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:37am

Love it ! Espacially the fact that you can leave messages. The part where you make you ball deserve maybe a bit more attention, but other then that : Merry Christmas !

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:48am

NIce idea for the exact holiday season.. may be you can launch it on facebook, a lot of ppl will use it

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:54am

Interesting use of persistent data. Could this project works embedded in a web-page (Unity plugin or WebGL) ?

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:29am

Thank you all for your feedback! This is greatly appreciated :-)
I made an attempt at WebGL export. I hope it'll work.
Merry Christmas!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:51pm

UI placement definitely needs fixing on the embedded web version but this was a rather cool idea and I liked seeing everyone else's decorations.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]