Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Cloud

by pedrorossa - Jam Entry

Once upon a time, there was a planet with blue, clear skies. Often, some clouds were formed and it rained all over the surface. But one day, suddenly, one cloud got eyes. Cute eyes. Oh, those cute eyes. That cloud, instead of going away with the others, decided to stay at the planet. Decided to have some fun. Fun destroying the planet. Cute destruction by a cute Bad Cloud.

Your objetive is to destroy everything on the planet using the cloud's "powers": rain and lightning bolts. You get bigger by absorbing water from water sources and you shrink by raining or creating lightning bolts. Watch out for your water level! When the cloud is empty, it's game over. When it is too full, it needs to be emptied. You get more points finishing your missions as quick as possible.

Bad Cloud
An idea of
- Pedro Rossa
- Douglas Santos
- Guilherme Cássio
- Gustavo Andrade

Programming by
- Pedro Rossa
- Douglas Santos

Original Soundtrack and SFX by
- Guilherme Cássio
- Gustavo Andrade

Art by
- Pedro Rossa

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#323Graphics(Jam)3.78
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#598Humor(Jam)2.52
#671Mood(Jam)3.03
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#848Fun(Jam)2.72
#1007Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

wow, great concept. planet is bit hard to control.

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

This is a cool concept. I liked the polygonal world a lot, the sound effects were pretty good too. I think the gameplay could use some work, though: The camera was a bit fiddle-y and it wasn't always clear where my lightning was hitting or why I would want to use "rain" option.

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Tank you adamyounis.
Just to you know, the rain is for to the second planet, but we don't have more time to implement :/
But, in a future version, you can use all the powers to consume the seven planets.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Controls were kind of tricky, really liked the graphics and is a really cool concept

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Graphics and sound were nice. Without reading the description, it's a bit hard to understand what to do. (Since one of the themes was "growing," I thought I was supposed to water the trees.)

The rotating planet was frustrating to control.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Really cool concept and nice graphics and audio! Gameplay is a little tricky but I eventually get used to it. Too bad the rain is useless, I thought I could extinguish trees in fire but nope :/ Overall, good work!

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Takes a bit to get used to the controls but nice to play once you get it

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Tanks guys, and David, you can extinguish the fire on trees with the rain :D
in the second phase there will be a volcano that you need to petrify with rain \o\

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I liked this game, despite not seeing what it had to do with either theme. The graphics were really nice, and the controls worked rather well. However, either the collision or the camera seemed to be a tad wonky, as the lightning bolts and the water absorption didn't work where it looked like they should, but rather a bit above and to the left of where it looks to be. If you fixed this and added some more variety, this would actually be a pretty good casual web game.

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

About the subject.
The cloud needs to grow, absorbing water and then have energy to shower and drop lightning.
As she absrove water it increases the size and change the color, becoming a storm cloud.
We not had time to create the introduction, but the goal is to consume the seven planets and for this you need to become a growing cloud.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Well, I'm a cloud.

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Very cute game!
It looks really nice and the audio is fitting. I found it quite hard to aim the lightning and didn't understand, why it would want to make it rain. A little bit of explanation would have been nice.

All in all great work!

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I felt like a palm hating cloud.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

I love the feel to this game although I wasn't quite sure what to do. I think I got some hang of it but then I'd get game over all of a sudden. It was nice while it lasted though and I'd like to see a fleshed out version of this game! :)

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

It's an interesting concept, and I loved the sound and art. I'd love to see what a game like this would be like given a bit more time.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very cool game! It is really fun to play it and the art style is amazing! Congratulations to the team, you did a great job

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33am

i like the music and graphics in this one, fun game all round :)

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I'm not sure where my lightning was hitting, it is too easy now, beautiful graphics.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I was striking thunder into certain trees like my life depended on it but some just would not react, also not sure when/where I had to use the water. Novel idea, though and cute cloud.

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

very fun, shame it was not finished I am guessing but ice cute evil cloud.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Some trees seemed invisible, and some water sources didn't actually give water. :/ I also couldn't figure out what I was supposed to destroy with rain.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Really neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]