Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Evolution, bitch!

by derugin.s - Jam Entry

Short history of life evolution from ancient fish to modern man packed in classic 3d runner setting with 6 different gameplay types.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#874Overall(Jam)2.89
#1003Theme(Jam)2.74
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Roman Komarov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

very cool game!

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Pretty wierd game man.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Good graphics =)

dkilford says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I liked what I played, but I wish you had finished more :(
The art is cool, and I like the music too!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Please correct the description as there is only 3 levels as of 19/12/15, also I really think you should have focused on making 1 level good rather than 3 not so good. Why was the picture above not included? You could have made a boot screen with it or something :/

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Odd but interested, and I can see potential, unfortunately it really needs polishing. Completely agree with Coomzy, would have been good to focus on a single level.

Japes says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I agree with Coomzy, rather have 1 well made level than three which feel unfinished.
Nice models. I found the branches moving in front of the character distracting.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:06am

I can't wait for level 1

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]