Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pluto's Revenge

by Angelosz - Jam Entry

For many time now Pluto hasn't been treated like he deserves, as the other planets always make fun of him for not being a big planet like them. Pluto has had enough! Help him take revenge and making his dream of being a big, big planet come true.

Become Pluto! Get all the stars you can to become the planet of your dreams and avoid the other planets! Little fun game that will make your heart melt even with those adorable enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#570Audio(Jam)2.86
#619Graphics(Jam)3.25
#705Innovation(Jam)2.85

Comments

bearcabin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

excellent, very fun. love the planets' expressions

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Those planet expressions were wonderful. Simple, yet fun game. Those explosions though were really loud and caught me by surprise lol

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

I get an error saying it can't find a file when I try to run it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

I'm getting an error when I try to run it.

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

Man, I just had, a really good time playing this thing. Only things I noticed were a few frame jumps in set intervals as well as some tearing in the background.

Angelosz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Sorry guys, the .exe you see at first has the path to the .exe of the game wrong, instead of executing the first one, open the folder and run the one there :). I uploaded it correctly now anyway.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

In only a few minutes I giggled on several occasion. Good job :)

Gunzil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Little game about avoiding big things and collecting small things while you grow bigger. It's short enough to what gameplay there is to get stale. Planets have cutesy faces on them so we can form an emotional connection. The explosions when you collide with other planets feel real good. Overall, simple gameplay with an interesting set of visuals.

Dasky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

Good job man, keep the good work :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08am

Good Work :) Keep improving

elkrema99 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

thanks

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

funny little game, good mechanics

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:40am

Haha Loved the way you uses the effects!

ansoneh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:53am

Those explosions are crazy!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:13am

I'm guessing this game was directed by Michael Bay :)
Overall, a solid game !

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]