Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Soulless Capitalist Robots

by Mach60KAS - Jam Entry

=======================
THE STORY SO FAR
=======================
To...
Be...
Written...

=======================
CONTROLS & INSTRUCTIONS
=======================

ENTER - talk
MOUSE - choose

--
NOTE: This is a 2-player game! If there aren't any open lobbies, feel free to create one or invite a friend. If all else fails, message me on Twitter: @Mach60KAS
--

Once in game:
_____________________

* Press enter and begin typing to message the other player.
* All controls will appear on screen - click using the mouse to activate them.
* Your goal is to grow your money pile, and earn $5000 before the other player - but there can be a tie. To do this, you must fight over a single pot of gold every turn.
* Every turn, you may choose to Share or to Cheat your opponent.
\--> If you both share, the pot is split evenly.
\--> If you one player cheats, they take the whole pot.
\--> If you both cheat, you lose 1/3 of the pot from your own stash.

To connect to a lobby:
_____________________

* Type ":l" to refresh the list of open lobbies.
* Type ":c example" to create a new lobby, named "example".
* Type ":j testlobby" to join the lobby named "testlobby", if it exists.

=======================
TIPS & TRICKS
=======================
* Try talking to your opponent! Maybe they'll be more likely to share if they feel like they can trust you.
* If you're left with no other choice, open two browser windows and have a lively game against yourself!
* Has the world frozen? Your partner likely disconnected, or changed tab. Try sending a text message to the server - if it doesn't appear on your screen, then your partner has left.

=======================
TOOLS USED
=======================

Art: Pyxel Edit
Music: pxTone
SFX: Reaper and sfxr
Engine: Custom
Editing: Sublime Text
Map Design: Tiled

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Mood(Jam)4.06
#86Humor(Jam)3.75
#97Innovation(Jam)3.82
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#296Graphics(Jam)3.83
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

What an interesting concept! Well executed and feels rather polished. Nice job!

Stending says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Brillant concept!
Wow, that was really awesome, hurry to rate other player, you need more vote!
You got a full 5/5 from me, amazing work :)

Stuntddude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:38pm

So it's basically just Prisoner's Dilemma: The Game? Nevertheless it's very polished and well put together, despite being perhaps too simple. Good graphics, good sound, and functioning multiplayer is hard to pull off all in 72 hours.

-1 for using javascript alert messages as a menu, though. That's a special brand of evil.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:28pm

This was a rather fun and interesting entry to play. Some parts felt co-operatative whilst some felt more competitive. Also, I liked how the announcer/green text/overlord is trying to sow discord between you and the other player.

KZdev says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:35am

Very interesting game, nice use of communication as a game mechanic. 5 stars for innovation!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:56pm

That was pretty funny. I thought I was talking to a real person for a second...

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:07pm

@Rex Peppers: You were.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Awesome game. I like sharing. Felix is friendly. :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:42am

Really compelling. At first it seemed pretty simple but the ending was surprisingly intense. @Mach60KAS you did a great acting job there :) more people need to see this, its really fascinating. The music was sweet too.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:19am

Really polished game, though I was able to win incredibly easily by spamming "fuck you" in chat and picking steal every time until the other person gave up or left. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]