Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Buttons Rescue

by Quique - Compo Entry

You need to rescue you buttons friends.
Be careful with the evil mouses.
:-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme4.11
#179Humor3.11
#447Graphics3.16
#750Fun2.74
#823Overall2.79
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

JacoboSegovia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Esta chulo, ideal para niños.

Quique says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45am

Yes is a perfect game for kids ;)
Thank Jacobo

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Grat key and mouse animations, it's funny

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Cute entry. Simple, a little odd to have to jump with the right and left key press, but it was very well put together.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Nice job, so funny!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

The character is cute and its animation quite fun. But try to add life to the environment, and work on a smoother game progression next time :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Fun game for kids. Control and collisions need some work though. I had a couple instance where I just got stuck on a level ground. jumping also sometimes made me jump in wrong direction.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Veryy funny game :D nice use of 2 buttonse there

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Fun idea but the controls were a bit jerky and I kept getting stuck in the floor. It was also a bit offputting that you could only jump to the left.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Holding both left and right should probably not make you move left. Cute game.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very frustrating :P
It was very hard to jump, and I got stuck in the ground sometimes.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:45am

Simple yet nice game. Movement and hand animations are GREAT.
Overall quality is nice too.
The only bad thing is that when you press both keys you always move left. This makes the game noticeably less fun.

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:17pm

very funny idea hahahah congratulations!

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I see you also made a game with buttons as characters, lol - nice.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:37am

cutest w, a and mouse!! the control is very comfortable. Wait, there are two 'a's. Does it mean that w has got two lovers and is playing the field? ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]