Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BLUE CARROT

by seththefirst - Compo Entry

A game where you need to use "Blue Carrot" to help bunnies to "make" more bunnies. (Yeah.. the blue carrot has this intention =) ).

They will do that, it's to feeding Blue Carrots to Male Bunnies and Female Bunnies. And if they are close from each other, they will get some good time inside the grass, enjoying the effect.

Do not overfeed the male bunnies with the Blue Carrot, or this could have impacts.

Achieve 100 bunnies before 5 years, and beat the game.

You will use two keys to play this game.

A - To cycle between all your bunnies
D - To feed with Blue Carrot

Sound Effect : http://www.bfxr.net/
Musics : http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/
Engine : Unity 3D
Pixel Art : Pyxel Edit

[HOW TO PLAY THE GAME]
Click in the Windows link, and download the zip file. (There's a arrow at top of the screen).
Unpack the zip file, and execute the LD34.exe inside the folder.

- 15-DEC
**** BETTER EXPLANATION ABOUT THE MECHANICS *****
- White Bunny is male.
- Grey bunny is female
You need to feed the carrot for both, but they need to be close enough.
You will get mostly females, so, try to feed more carrots to the male bunny, to improve your chances of female bunnies.
You will get carrots over time.

* And please, try to overfeed the male one... =)

- 16-DEC
- WebGL Version Added

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#168Humor3.16
#244Innovation3.55
#258Audio3.12
#267Graphics3.52
#272Theme3.97
#398Mood3.07
#474Overall3.24
#639Fun2.94

Comments

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I like your character art style. Neat idea for the theme.

Afendar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I like it ! good job but it's hard to have lot of rabits.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Thank you guys...
My art style, is not actually mine... I got a lot of inspiration google... Hahahahaha

And it's not that hard to have that amount of bunnies. Just use the power of the Blue Carrot...

hahahahaha

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice idea and very good art style :)

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

i like it, good job.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

haha. im stuck with no carrots XD
i really liked the art omg

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The gameplay is very interesting and innovative. I enjoy play it. One problem is when rabbits grow a lot. The control is switch control is so low efficiency. I think if there is no constrain on the them. Using mouse will be better.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

@JohnGalt
Hey, thank you for the comment.
I thought the same, when I first played the game.
But I wanted to keep the 2 buttons thing. And choose the correct bunny, is part of the gameplay, anyway... :P

@Mockthebear
You get new carrots time to time. So, if you wait a little, you should have more carrots available.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

Cool mechanic. The bunnies are awesome cute.

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Blue carrot... ok. xD
Funny and clever mechanic, but sometimes trying to point the desired rabbit with the cursor was a tad frustrating.
Good game! :D

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Was confused a bit with mechanics how carrot affects breeding. Spent all my carrots and only one pair breed.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

@Chewie
You need one male (white) and one female(grey).
You give one carrot to each, and if they are close enough, they will move to the grass.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:20am

Good job! Nice game! Congrats.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47am

That was a really cool concept. And loved the opportunity to play cupid. The graphics and animations were super cute and it was fun to see how many years we could last. Great job!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01am

Interesting concept, but I think it would be more playable if I could pick a rabbit by just click on it instead of using a key to cycle. IMHO, you're trying too hard to fit the theme of "Two Button Control", it's not necessary especially when you've already suit the "Growing" theme well.

Madball says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53am

"to improve your chances of female bunnies" - did you mean "male bunnies"?

I came here from your post about the mechaincs not being understood. I read the description for your game and understood everything. However, not everybody does it. It happens to my games, too: whenever I add something unusual, it comes with a lot of text explaining how to use it, and somebody won't read it. It can be solved by in-game turorials, but they take additional time to make. So, I would recommend not making complicated mechanics for LD games. If you worry about your innovation rating, it's possible to make an innovative yet simple game.

As for the gameplay, the two button controls are awful. Sorry, but they are. Did you want to follow the theme so badly you risked the fun? I expect the theme to be in the core, in this case you can change controls without making any impact to the game.

I liked how detailed the game is, though. Especially the fact that all rabbits have names. And the strategical "more carrots - more males" mechanic works well. Except I never have enough carrots to use it.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

@qwetro
@MadBall

Thank you guys for the evaluation.
I really thought that the 2 button thing would be funny. At least for me, was. hahahahah
Cause you want to select one specific bunny and the thing was cycling.
The basic idea here, it's that you don't need more than one carrot to make they mate. I mean, you start with 5 bunnies, and 10 carrots. If you wait until a couple are close enough, with 2 carrots you solve the problem.

The thing it's that I've created one mechanic that if you overfeed the male bunny above one threshold, he will explode, and looks like nobody saw that... :P

I think that I will work in a post compo version this night, and include webgl with that.
So, people can choose which version they want to play, and judge the game based on that.

Thank you again, for the comments and tips... =)

Farelle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:18pm

thought it was quite difficult to play, the cycling with one key gets really tedious the more bunnies there are. Not to mention that I have not figured out in what rate the blue carrots are coming back, I always seemed to have to few and it increased the difficulty alot, that every fail in breeding was causing used up blue carrots to be...well...useless.
I liked the music and the whole graphics and mood though :D even the exploding overdosed bunny XD

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:31am

When you run out of carrots, all you can do is wait =/ Maybe if you got carrots more frequently, one by one, and also got bonus carrots when successfully mating rabbits? Also, there could be a timer of some sort to indicate the temporary effect of the carrot, and maybe a circle around the bunny to indicate the area in which they are looking for a mate.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]