Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

[Evolved The BeelZebub]

by iantttianttt - Jam Entry

"Choose two button control your growing"

This game is about create monster, you'll get some special elements during the game, use these stuff to evlove your monster and make it stronger and stronger.
The final goal is use the monster that you create to invade the castle and defeat the holy king.
Try your best to make the strongest monster as you can.

This game takes turn-based. Choose two element buttons control to grow at start.
At each turn you'll get four different kind of options, you can choose two of them to evolve your monster.
You can also use these options to create new attributes or items, or even some monster minions to help you to fight.

Every choose or mix will make different outcome, maybe this mix will increase your monster or just kill it. So think carefully about your choices!!

Good luck!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Update 2015/12/17]
For now,that is still a lot of bug in game,some features are still not active ,we will make it more fun in future,so if you like it or want to play more update version,the web link will take you to the page where we will update the game.
hope you like it =D

Credits: Kagerou, Ouro, Shin, Hanger, A Za

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#602Audio(Jam)2.74
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#839Mood(Jam)2.71
#938Overall(Jam)2.79
#969Theme(Jam)2.89
#1009Fun(Jam)2.37
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06am

Great concept and graphics!
But the game itself needs to be polished harder.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01am

Cool game just wish more time was given to its polish. Well done.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16am

Interesting concept. I had a hard time selecting elements. Made it to Stage:9 before I wasn't able to select any elements/options.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17am

Looks like a cool game and concept. I really struggled with controls though, spent quite a time before it accepted my clicks - not sure if it was because I ran in windowed mode?
Overall good game - would love seeing the finished product.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:25am

The idea is interesting, but the game lacks any feedback. I click and nothing happens.. except sometimes SOMETHING happens, but I have no idea what it is.
I'm sure the game creators have fun playing, because they undertands the meaning of icons and various game states. I do not, though.

lordsavage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Very interesting idea for the summoning of creatures etc, but i had no idea what many of the combinations did.

Also once i started getting a large army the collision detection started behaving very oddly - not sure if it was a bug or just my slow machine.

BUT, overall a VERY neat idea, implemented very well - well done!

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22am

Interesting concept, however, when i selected two elements nothing seems to happen? I'm not able to click on the little dudes attacking me or anything...

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:20am

the graphics is so cool

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:17pm

It's super-hard to click on things. It's also hard to make out what's actually going on. It's pretty and the concept is cool tho. :3

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:29am

Really nice art!

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

i MAY HAVE WON THE THRONE, BUT, WAS THE REAL SKULL GOO LICH INSIDE ME ALL ALONG:????? FOOD FOR THOUGHT; SEQUEL MATERIAL

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:22pm

The idea is fantastic but unfortunately, the lack of feedbacks made it enormously confusing. The graphics are really nice despite some huge visual glitches. Keep it up, you're onto something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]