Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Battle For Bedroom

by monetai - Jam Entry

Battle for Bedroom - a versus fighting game !

Fight against your annoying sibling to take control of the entire bedroom !
Beat the hell out of that button on the wall to push it further and occupy every inch of space…
Wall jumps and fly kicks will be your best chance to defeat your brother/sister.

We strongly recommend the use of a Xbox 360 controller, but you can also play with your keyboard (P1 : ZQSD+ctrl / P2 : arrow keys+shift).

PS : If you'r using a Qwerty keyboard, use shift + alt to switch to azerty.
--------------------

Lucas Briffaud
Alexandre Dewagnier (http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/)
Théodore Doumic
Yannig Le Guern (http://jannigosaure.blogspot.be/)
Victor Mellini (http://victor-mellini.blogspot.fr/)
Camille Moreau
Maxime Touchon (http://maximetouchon.fr/)

--------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#188Humor(Jam)3.37
#251Innovation(Jam)3.51
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#284Audio(Jam)3.43
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#790Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very beautiful and entertaining! I like the theme, art and music.
A quite fun game to play with sisters or brothers :-)
Congratulations!

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

"An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: abort(128) at jsStackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21731
stackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21914
abort@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:50373
Zsk@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:29:80092
FMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115400
HMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:116196
GMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115943
tIb@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:16:378288
vrd@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:19:635081
.func@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:31909
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24165
ensureInitRuntime@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24665
doRun@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49067
run/<@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49489

If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information." :c

This was in the console:
"Invoking error handler due to
uncaught exception: abort(128) at jsStackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21731
stackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21914
abort@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:50373
Zsk@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:29:80092
FMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115400
HMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:116196
GMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115943
tIb@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:16:378288
vrd@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:19:635081
.func@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:31909
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24165
ensureInitRuntime@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24665
doRun@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49067
run/<@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49489

If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information. UnityConfig.js:76:9
uncaught exception: abort(128) at jsStackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21731
stackTrace@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:21914
abort@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:50373
Zsk@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:29:80092
FMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115400
HMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:116196
GMa@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:18:115943
tIb@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:16:378288
vrd@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:19:635081
.func@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:31909
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24165
ensureInitRuntime@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:1:24665
doRun@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49067
run/<@http://alexandre-dewagnier.com/LD34/Release/BattleForBedroom.js:36:49489

If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information."

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Good visuals and while simple the gameplay is quite fun if one has someone to play it with.

Orava says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Firefox 34:

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. [...] BattleForBedroom.js:1:21731

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I get an error with Firefox as well. Might I suggest doing a Unity player build? It's generally a lot more stable (even though I know the whole browser killing NPAPI thing).

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I love how the background and music changes depending on who is winning.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I will upload another version of the game later, there is too much troubles with the webGl. Thank you for the bug report =)

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

won't run. same reason as jaytle

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Ahahaha, 2buttons - very smart solution)
Very deligthful - we liked it a lot :)
5 buttons from 5 :)

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Continuously hangs on Safari :(
Looks really promising.

Garazbolg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Like a simple arm wrestling game for brother and sister. Simple but effective.
Congrats

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice game, good job guys !
I really like your interpretation of the theme ! The mecanics are cool, and the graphics are really, really nice :)

Am says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

So good ! <3

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really nice art and concept, but the physic of the game is totally WTF.
Anyway, great job!:D

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I'am uploading a unity player build right now =)
Sorry for the problems with webGL..

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:05am

I clicked this game because of the thumbnail. I LOVE the notebook-style graphics and the color palettes for each character. My only complaint is that the Player 1 controls are really awkward on a QWERTY keyboard, so if you continue to work on it, just keep that in mind. :) Love the concept of the bedroom battle, and of course you get an A+ for theme-- most people are using 2 buttons as a gameplay mechanic but yours is the first 'conceptual' use of the theme I've seen yet. Web version worked fine BTW. Great job. :)

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12am

Fun game although the player one controls are a little weird on a keyboard.
The graphics and sound are great though, enjoyed it.

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Cool concept, I like how the music shifts depending on the game state. If only there's an AI to play with...

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

The controls where a bit weird on a qwerty-keyboard. I like the graphics. Would definitely play again (with 360 pad)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Fun battle but my sister wined:( good game!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Graphics, theme, mood 5/5. Sweet idea and ambientation!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Really fun !

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Graphics is awesome !! Like, Like , Like , you have all my votes

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Cool graphics!I liked a lot ;D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Interesting take on the "Two buttons" theme, but the gameplay felt pretty janky. movement was really floaty and made it feel really hard to control. Art was nice though

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Really fun! Shame I don't have another person with me to try out for multiplayer, but gameplay is pretty solid.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I loved the style! Great job!

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Well I think the controls for the brothers were weird (as I'm using a Keyboard) but I love the solution for the theme! The art was nice as well

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Very entertaining game, I like art and colors but the controls are difficult

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20am

The graphics were quite nice, and I liked the music, too! Wish I had someone to be my player 2, because it seems like a fun game to play with an opponent!

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

Loved the visuals and music! Good job guys :)

lucyfred says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08am

super fun congrats !

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48am

Nice take on a fighting game, the concept is really original, loved the graphics and music the game play is simple and is a good combination of both themes a solid entry overall :)

Yakka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Very innovating fighting game :)

davidB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Good idea and variation on "two button". But controls (hit) are not very responsive (web on OSX).

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Epic game. It is really enjoyable.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:34am

This is interesting, I love the character design and idea!

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Nice graphics!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:53pm

pretty fun and engaging!! Hoping to see more of this game!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:20am

The controls, man.. what whas that?! Z jumps, ctrl attacks, Q goes to left.. wtf.. is the game challenge playing with weird controls?
Also you have slipped on the theme since it is not a growing game or two buttons control.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:17am

Great audio and art! I also loved the idea of this being a competitive, however I just played it by myself on a keyboard... Needless to say, "sister" one every match : )

monetai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:53pm

For the "zqsd" problem, we are french and here we're using azerty keyboard, we have forgot to change controls for qwerty after dev now it's too late, so if you'r using a qwerty keyboard use shift+alt on windows to swap for an azerty layout.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Art art and music is great

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:53am

Hey this was a fun little 10 minute play for me and my girlfriend. The controls are really floaty though and not in a good way. The art style is very original.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:45am

Thanks for playing, rating, and commenting on GET IT OUT!!! I really appreciated the feedback. This was a fun play and that's saying a lot since I was trying it by myself. Lol. I thought the music was well done and the art was solid. The idea of hitting buttons to push the wall is a really cool mechanic that I don't think I've seen before and really pushed the theme. Definitely would love to see this fleshed out a bit more but I'm glad you were able to finish in time. Thanks for sharing and congrats!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:30pm

I did not have a controler, so it as too hard for me to get used to the controls. Anyway, nice graphics! Congrats.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Bonne entrée! Les graphismes et l'audio sont bien faits et c'est un bon divertissement à deux. Bien joué! ;)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Good idea, making a two player game is always a risk yet the basics are here and it works. Lacks some little details and a tiny bit of depth to be a perfect though :)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I could not figure out how this game worked (played on the keyboard btw)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:11am

Gorgeous graphics and music, but the controls and movement left a lot to be desired. I really want to love this one, but I just have too much difficulty playing it : c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]