Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Repulsor

by valgoun - Jam Entry

Take your Repulsor and be ready for the Race!
Repulsor is a game made on UE4.
Only on Windows

To play, launch the "Launch.bat" file as admin in the game folder.
The game is Splitscreen only and can only be played with Gamepads.


-------CONTROLS------
GAMEPADS ONLY
Use the left stick to turn and the right/left trigger to accelerate/decelerate.
To GROW your speed, press "A" (at your own risk) .
-------------------------

We will post a 32 bits version of the game if some people request it.

To play in fullscreen, press ALT+ENTER

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#639Audio(Jam)2.61
#770Mood(Jam)2.88
#847Overall(Jam)2.95
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Too bad it's only windows... this looks awesome.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

As a huge fan of Pod Racer for the N64 I felt like this game had a lot of potential going for it. Granted I wasn't expecting that game but it would have been nice to have even a basic scoring mechanic implemented. Sound effects fell flat without the visuals to back it up. noticed some tiling in the textures besides that looked great. Overall this game has a lot of potential but fell flat.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41am

This was a mess to get working. First mega.nz tried to download its own downloader for me, then once I managed to circumvent that, the bat crashed because I had whitespace in my pathname (put quotes around pathnames in the future). Once I fixed that, the bat only opened up cmd and cd'd to the appropriate directory. I was able to start up the file by just navigating to the appropriate spot and opening it, though.

Regarding the game itself:
The pod racer itself looks great. It's far beyond what I'd expect from an LD entry, and shows a lot of fine detailing and crafting.
Everything else suffered for it, though. The level geometry is messy and hard to follow. The sound effect for hitting things is far too long and plays too often. Half the assets placed in the level don't have their hitboxes set. I couldn't figure out a way to move the second pod, and the game didn't register when I finished a lap.
The movement was actually rather smooth, except for the constant crashing into slightly glitchy obstacles.

I think the game would have benefited from a larger open play area with some sand dunes to leap over. Scrap the track design and just give me a desert to play in. No second player, no racing, just a sandbox. The driving mechanics would've really worked well for just jumping off hills at high speed.

The game really doesn't fit into the theme, either. It's just a generic racing game.
Sorry :T

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

looks so so good!

valgoun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:27pm

@BubuIIC
Hi, on what platform would you like us to build it?
@hyperscope
Basic scoring mechanic was in, but the UI was messed up. On the new update, it’s now display émoticône wink
Sorry for the sound design, we didn’t have a guy to do it during the whole jam. He came at the end.
I think tilling was lighting messing up, it’s now fix.

valgoun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:28pm

@amras0000
New update solves the launching problem. Level design intuitiveness have been improved. The sound design has been supported by fx, it feels better now. All the assets have their hitboxes set properly.
The game is gamepad only. To move the second pod, you need a second gamepad.
Laps were registering, but UI was messed up.

valgoun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:28pm

@VladRusu
Thank you!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:47pm

I'll be sure to give it another try, until then keep at it dude!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Really nice controls and the model looks awesome!
This is great!

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

I love this gameplay and the graphic is awesome

SamH says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Impressive art you have here, congrats. But it doesn’t really seem to be related to the theme, so it’s hard to judge it in comparison to the other entries…

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]