Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Memory Jump

by dregamr - Compo Entry

Not a typical platformer.
You must discover where are the platforms placed and remember their position if you fail.

There are 5 levels to beat. Try all of them out! ^_^

Controls: Left and right arrows README! :P : press both arrows to jump.
Theme: 2 Button controls

I don't like WebGL, so I recommend you to download the game.

I hope you to enjoy it! :)
Thanks for playing!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Innovation3.57
#327Audio2.98
#405Humor2.52
#416Mood3.05
#426Graphics3.20
#474Overall3.24
#567Fun3.04
#578Theme3.61
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:48am

Fun game. That main menu block was a cool feature. The controls can get a little confusing sometimes but thats the theme's fault.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:53am

Really cute looking game, was fun!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

Good looking game. Wished there was a score.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Interesting but hard. If you move halfway onto the block you are currently on the next block appears or not. Kinda defeats the purpose of it being a memory game. But otherwise great. I like how you squeeze in jump controls into the two button control :)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Played nicely, great main menu, and it was quite fun!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Really impressive how polished this is for an 48h game. What I don't quite like about the gameplay is, that there is no way to predict where blocks are. Trial and error as the only option is not so much fun as it could be.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

was fun.. bit hard to coordinate jump first
also look like you can get stuck sideways on blocks

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I saw this on twitter and really wanted to play. It's a real nice concept. well done!
Perhaps an orthographic camera would have been better to remember the positions of blocks easier. Otherwise, nice idea!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Nice game! The jump controls were a little difficult and sometimes the player gets stuck against walls (if you press towards the wall). It was still good though.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Clever and challenging use of theme. One thing: make elevator two block size - now it's quite hard to jump from them.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Great looking game. And really nice concept. I had a good time playing. The controls are not perfectly responsive though it could be due to the web version.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I sort of wish you'd done this game with a different theme, because I thought it was a very cool idea, but just made a little too frustrating by the 2-button control scheme. Other than that everything was done very nicely

Wir says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I love that game machanics. It´s a bit crappy to jump though but thats the 2 button controlls fault ^^

Sometimes I got stuck in blocks but all in all I liked that game

Greetings Team Wir

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Really fun, but controls are a little frustrating :P

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice atmosphere!

Just got some troubles with de collisions like getting stuck so many times in the 3rd level!

Anyway congratulations for this cutE game!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:31am

Nice platform puzzle ! Good job. :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:59am

The games main downfall was not being able to jump reliably from the elevator blocks... it just made the game too frustrating. however I found the remainder of the game very fun and well made, excusing a few un-responsive controls.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:29am

really poorly made controls. you could abandon the theme rather than make something that doesn't work. that being said, really good presentation and design.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:40am

Oh god, it's Invisible tiles: The Game. And when I thought we had, as a society, moved on.

The cube aesthetic is neat and all, but... no. Not my type of concept, no matter how cool the execution might seem.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:15am

Interesting concept which is has been really well executed. A good project which can be improved by other features. Thumps up ++

vortex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very interesting and fun game, but I got stuck on the part where you have to jump up three blocks, because my player kept getting stuck on the side of blocks... have you tried making a slidy physics material to prevent this?

Ithildin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:28pm

The game idea is brilliant, the game looks nice and the music set a nice mood. Controls were a bit glitchy and the player got stuck a few times, if you fix that you'll have a great entry with lots of potential. Nice job!

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Interesting concept, I really like all of the little design touches you put into it (transitions between levels, the main menu block, etc). The music being calm and pleasant was much appreciated, as I found myself getting frustrated pretty quickly -- it was a bit too trial-and-error for my taste, but I did still enjoy playing.

I think your execution was really good, particularly with using a simple art style and making it look nice. The only things I noticed in terms of polish was that the collision had the tendency to bug out a bit, usually when jumping along a wall.

Overall clever and fun game. Good job!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:38am

Really really good game but it gets really hard, I couldn't pass the third level! (maybe my memory isn't that good :/). But i'll try again later! This was good ;)

ragnta says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Nice game! Good theme :)

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Pretty hard but interesting concept. I liked the idea of having to remember where the platforms are.

radmars says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:09am

Interesting concept though a lot of the time it just feels like trial and error. One thing that might help, if things like higher-up platforms were symmetrical with lower ones there would be less trial and error involved. Also the physics & controls felt a bit awkward at times - the theme might be working against you on the latter. Cool concept though & great polish on everything, nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]