Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dare to Grow

by alaynamcole - Jam Entry

This interactive scene explores the theme 'Growing'. It aims to evoke mood through a short, visual experience.

I started using Unity and C# for the first time three weeks ago, so #LDJAM was a good excuse to practise my skills and improve on my coding, modelling, and general familiarity with Unity.

I used free textures, but created the models during the jam. The vocals belong to Kate Dilemma, who offers her audio clips for use on freesound.org.

After some issues with hosting on my own site and providing download files, I now have a URL link to the game hosted on my itch.io, which seems to have solved most issues. Pleast let me know if you have any problems playing!

I hope you enjoy my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Audio(Jam)4.06
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#663Graphics(Jam)3.16
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#1083Fun(Jam)1.96
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

Wow, this is a touching game. Is this you singing?

alaynamcole says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

Thank you ezolotko. The beautiful voice belongs to Kate Dilemma (http://www.freesound.org/people/ktdilemma/).

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00am

Nice idea, but the controls are non-intuitive :/ in this kind of first person game, you should be able to do a full 360° round on yourself.
Anyway, I liked the poetry of the game, so good job :)

alaynamcole says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

RadStar: I think some people have had issues with the mouse not controlling the camera properly depending on the browser they are using to view the game. Let me know if that was your issue with you being unable to turn as you expected, because it should function similarly to how you'd expect FPS perspective to function.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

I love the mood. Would've like to walk around after the game was finished to read the last piece of text (was a bit too late the first time)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Very poetic atmosphere! I love that! It's sure more of an experience than a game, but still very interesting. And I loved the little writings that appear on the wall. Very simple, but it adds a lot to this beautiful moment.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Very nice experience you gave us, thank you very much.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

nice scene! thank you :)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Was hard to understand but love the ambient and the idea. Good job alaynamcole!!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The idea is nicely presented, great atmosphere, although there is no actual gameplay. Also, the walking was a bit weird, bouncing up and down and sliding a bit (although I know this is the new Unity 5 FPS character controller, I don't like it and still use the one from 4) which is no problem with this entry though since no precise movement is needed. Still, nice try for your first entry.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Also, I forgot to mention, the exe file link has only the executable and it won't run alone, you also need to give the associated folder with the data in the package, created during build.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Audio and mood gets the top marks here! Though maybe there could be something additional involved later on?

teamvr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:27am

Great idea and chill vibe. I kinda wanted the tree to keep growing until is was busting out of the courtyard and towering above you.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Was interesting - not sure if I skipped ahead too much or if this was a bug, but I pressed 'e' to sing every time it prompted, and the tree kept getting bigger, then I moved and the game went to the home screen (not sure if the game was supposed to end there or not). Might have been better if the option to sing again wasn't presented until the first action was finished.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Pro:
+ Interesting experience
+ Tree model is nice
+ Great mood arranged
Con:
- It was a bit weird that it seemed night time but lighting was day time
- Tree and writings could have animation so it's more smooth.. But I guess I'm asking too much
Obs:
o Not that it really matters, but it kept prompting "Press e to sing" when the singing never stopped. Maybe it should pause and continue after the pressing the button?
o Windows build seems incomplete. Did you add all the data folder in the package?

Great job!

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I love this poetic side that makes plants grow.
Good job for 3d elements !
You have a little start concept but interesting

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]