Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Simulator 2k15

by willchil - Compo Entry

Swim around in an endless ocean in Fish Simulator 2k15! Eat fish that are smaller than you in order to grow. Avoid fish that are bigger than you.

Press 'W' to move forward, and 'S' to move back.

NOTE: Cursor confinement isn't possible in the web player due to limitations in WebGL. For best performance, download a standalone client.


All programming and assets were created in 48 hours for LD 34. Audio assets are highly edited derivative works. The game and associated assets were created with Unity3D, Autodesk Graphic, Autodesk Maya, and Audacity.


For more, visit AwesomeStuff.Software

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#330Humor2.70
#565Mood2.85
#590Graphics2.90
#625Theme3.55
#750Fun2.74
#763Overall2.90
#778Innovation2.60

Comments

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Really good idea and execution. The only problem I had was the red/green target sometimes not appearing until I was right on top of a fish.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12am

i could see this will be a fun and simple game, just like feeding frenzy but in 2D
the problem is, i can't really see the differentiation in size on each fish, they all looks the same size, when i tho it was smaller, i approach it, and got eaten

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14am

hehe fishes. The graphics are nice and simple, I had a difficult time telling how large a fish actually is, and how far away I am from a fish. The mouse control feels nice, though, and I think with some tweaking this could be really fun, great work! ^u^

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

The hardest part is knowing which fish is actually smaller than you, but I love the idea!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Pretty fun game, fits growing theme easily, and nearly fits two button control theme. Graphics are okay, but it would be better if fishes far away were semi-transparent instead of instantly appearing and disappearing. It would also be better if you could easier find out if you can eat the target or not.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Just like the classic but in 3D. I found it really hard to find some smaller fish I could it (Never found one)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Hard to judge the size of the fish from far away!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

A nice game but the difference in sizes should be easier to spot.

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37pm

A nice version of the "eat or be eaten" concept. I found it difficult to find smaller fish, the indicator was a nice touch but perhaps a "crosshair" of sorts would have made it a bit easier. That said, I liked the fact it was hard to gauge if something was actually small or just far away... I got a kick out of that. Perhaps fewer fish with more complex AI and stronger feedback would have made this a bit easier to stay engaged, but I enjoyed the time I played. The sound and graphics had a nice ambiance.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

I think it's not very innovative, but it's great!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:05am

I like the idea but it can be tough to judge relative sizes of the other fish. Good execution of the theme though!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Pretty good. My only issues were that it took a while to figure out the red/green target indicator meant edible/inedible, it was a little laggy, and the target indicator didn't pop up sometimes. It was fun to swim around though, and I got a little bit of an adrenaline rush when I had to dodge a ton of big fish. Maybe one way to expand on the play is to make it a little more sparse, but add better indicators of where big and small fish are, then having big fish chase you, and little fish evade you, turning it into a series of chases, rather than aimless wandering. Also, adding some distance fog to hide the fish popping in and out might be good.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice concept, however u should show via colors or something bigger or smaller fishes. The difference between sieze is too small. But it's still good game :)

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Its like an agar.io 3d XD

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Was fun :)
I enjoyed being a fish :D
Was a little hard to find smaller fish than myself

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I can't tell which is bigger which is not. I like the idea, but in my opinion needs to be more clear which fish can be eaten.

srakowski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Would be nice if there was another way to distinguish larger fish from smaller fish than just the cursor color. Other than that it was fun to swim around. I like the ambient audio.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]