Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MotherCube (strategic puzzle)

by Jacktheviper - Jam Entry

This is my second time participating in the game jam, the theme this time was really suitable for the kind of game I enjoy but unfortunately I didn't manage to do everything I had in mind because working on the engine took a lot of the time.

This is an small puzzle/strategy game, the objective in each of the 5 levels is to catch all the floating cubes and bring them back to the glowing "Mother cube".

The units are controlled with the mouse, left click to select and right clicks to give orders, also it is possible to queue actions by holding shift; the camera can be moved with "WASD".

I hope you enjoy this even though it is a bit unfinished right now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#628Innovation(Jam)2.98
#684Audio(Jam)2.30
#705Humor(Jam)2.29
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93
#985Mood(Jam)2.19
#997Theme(Jam)2.77
#1022Overall(Jam)2.64
#1046Fun(Jam)2.26

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17am

Damn, the anti-cube team was harsh !

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

Really fun game. Love the graphics.

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

Control needs refining, innteresting concept though!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really like the graphics!

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57am

Why does the drop sound remind me of MSN messenger or something? :P

Nice concept. Might be good to have fleshed out a bit more.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03am

The controls were a little bit difficult to use, selecting the guys was kind of hard and one of my guys got stuck on a ramp. :0 It was really cool though! I liked the sounds in the game and the graphics looked pretty nice, also making the mother cube grow just felt satisfying. It was fun, great job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:09am

I really like this game! I love 2.5D, RTS-style games. :) I would LOVE to see a bigger version of this game. I'd probably lose hours to it. Good work!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10pm

The controls were off, but the concept is nice. The game was a bit tedious, like the first level. It could be a tad shorter. The progressive addition of level feature is good thought. The AI was bugged, the anti-cube guys picked cubes then stoped moving for the rest of the level. You built a nice RTS engine there.

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Thanks everyone, I appreciate that you guys have took the time to play and give some feedback, but I'm a bit confused by what you mean about the controls being off, it is problably because I've been become too used to the game

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16pm

The graphics were well executed on this one. Found the controls a but frustrating and the levels a bit too long. The dynamic of having several players to help each other is very clever though. Feed the mother cube :)

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

The controls weren't great and the game felt a bit slow, but it was still fairly fun.

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Interesting idea. Well played.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05am

Controls could use a bit of work... game feel is a little bit lacking right now (I think it's because of this). All in all a very interesting concept. Well done!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56am

Controls were a bit finicky, not all my move orders seemed to be followed. Levels were probably a bit larger than they needed to be, which made it a bit tedious without any nice sound or other effects to distract me. However the concept is solid, and it was pretty nice overall!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31pm

The global mood is gorgeous :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Great work!
I thought it would be nice, if this had a grouping feature and if you were able to jump to the troops with the number keys. Then I realized, you have implemented both. Awesome! :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I like this game, It is very big, and it has been done at time! Really good entry ;-)

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:32am

Interesting concept. I liked that it was isometric--don't see many iso games in LD. It has a good progression in terms of difficulty and new mechanics.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:44pm

It took me a while to get the hang of what I had to do, but I found it quite enjoyable after I did.
The graphics are simple and cute, and the gameplay was quite addicting!
I did manage to get a few of my guys stuck in the corner of the map though :(

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:30am

Didn't completely get how is the mother cube growing, but this game looks promising. Too bad you didn't finish it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]