Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Panic

by Aelius - Jam Entry

In Orbital Panic you take control of an alien life form and it's planet, which can be brought to exert gravity and anti-gravity by the simple flip of a switch. Use the tools you have to achieve growth and eliminate all lesser life forms.

Complete your objectives by running your planet into smaller rocks until you can absorb entire planets.

Edit: Planets have Red or Blue Borders, Red means back off and Blue means go for it (for those asking).

W/Up Arrow->Push
S/Down Arrow->Pull
Mouse Wheel->Zoom in and out
Esc->Pause
Esc in Main Menu->Quit

Made with the help of PixelRetro & Mouch

Music:

"Polygraph_City" by RawGames
http://opengameart.org/content/polygraph-city

"enchanted tiki 86" by cynicmusic
http://opengameart.org/content/enchanted-tiki-86

Sounds:

"Muffled Distant Explosion" by NenadSimic
http://opengameart.org/content/muffled-distant-exp...


"WGS Sound FX - Explosion 1" by Retimer
http://opengameart.org/content/wgs-sound-fx-explos...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#85Theme(Jam)4.22
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15

Comments

Aelius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

Just made it. What a relief!

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

A little cute game that its fun to play :D who won't enjoy eating planets?!¿!?!

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Pretty fun! I see a little Osmos or Agar.io inspiration. I just wish it had some sound effects. I see that you just barely hit the deadline though and audio is typically the last item on the list.

Nice work!

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Good game, it should have a zoom out at the start and just a little more instructions. One I knew that it was fun to play!

Good luck!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Cool graphics! Took me a while to understand what was happening, because it was zoomed in. Nice job overall!

Jod says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14am

HAha, that's pretty cool! Love the little dude on the planet detail.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:26am

I like the concept behind the game, it's a clever idea that fits both themes really well. However, I think the execution fell short a bit, here, it is really difficult to make something like this easy to control, and it is quite hard in this game. The physics kind of felt a bit off, which kills the game a bit for me. Would love to see this with more dev time.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08am

The idea of this game is great. I have my problems with the controls though. Making Gravity a factor is a good touch.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:11am

4nd level is too dificult, but i'm done it!)
Confused control, but it's very intresing litle game.
Good job!

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nice game, I liked the planetary idea and the music was great. I would have liked a clearer indicator of when I was bigger than something else, and some parallax or some other kind of way to tell I was moving when there wasn't anything else on screen. Overall very nice!

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:54am

I would have loved to have parallax too, but it doesn't make much sense from the perspective to have far away stars move a visible amount as the player travels some distance. Maybe with nearby planets/asteroids in the background, however that could confuse the player too.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Nice job, got both themes in. Love smashing planets into planets!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Pretty good game, I also made this kind of game months ago, I know what you've been through ;)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I like the concept. Maybe, it's to difficult, I can't end the second level. I don't really understand how the gravity run. But it was fun to play it, and the graphics are great, well done.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice one :3

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31pm

@SayRafon Good thing I did everything but programing the core game mechanics. We planned to do the player orbiting planets, orbiting other planets and still have easy controls, but after 2 days where we still didn't have that done, we settled for the easier version of non-physics orbiting. The rest of the team was completely exhausted and wanted to discard the game, because it didn't turn out the way we wanted. I could hear them moan a lot over TS.

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Some parallax background movement would've been nice.

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Good graphic and audio but strange controlls. Took me a moment to understand where I am pushed or Pulled from

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice game!
The concept is very interesting, but quite hard to get your head around.
I quit on the "survive for 60 s" level with the rapitly moving suns, because each time a huge fast suns did eat me :( 60s may be a bit long.
All in all great work!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I like the core mechanic a lot, it has potential.

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:55am

Looks like Katamari Damacy + Agar.io in space. I found a glitch at the last level that you teleport randomly when you're too far from the center.

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Amazing sense of height. Like you're really hanging in space in the middle of the abyss.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]