Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shemeowbi

by Quadnozzle - Jam Entry

In Shemeowbi, you take on the role of a Ninja Cat Girl or Cat Ninja Girl or Girl Ninja Cat. Her fallen enemies have returned from the Spirit World to take their revenge and destroy her! Some of them have learned to exert force on the real world and can block or parry Ninja/Cat/Girl's attacks. Others can temporarily slip back into the Spirit World to avoid her punishing blows. So be quick and strong and send those evil spirits back to where they belong!

Shemeowbi is a two button action game made for LDJAM34.

Controls
Use <Ctrl>/<LeftMouse> to attack and <Alt>/<RightMouse> to defend! If you download the offline versions, compare high scores with the world!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#403Humor(Jam)2.83
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#612Audio(Jam)2.72
#966Innovation(Jam)2.32
#973Graphics(Jam)2.24
#976Mood(Jam)2.24
#1012Fun(Jam)2.36
#1064Overall(Jam)2.50

Comments

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

It didnt feel I need skills to play the game well. But I had fun and I loved the blood ^^

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Those bad guy death lines! lol Great job guys!

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

The graphics are not that great, and this isn't a game either, you just continue to press the attack button forever and the game plays itself. There is no need for strategy or thinking or even the blocking button, because you never ever have to use it.
There is no story either.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

The backgrounds look very nice, but as kabel said, it is unfortunate that the game can be won easily by just pressing attack as much as possible.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Interesting concept, the implementation is a little confusing, but I like the art.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Winning strategy: mash the left mouse button.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

Seems to be the winning strategy is mash the mouse with seemingly no rhyme or reason. Didn't find the humor particularly humorous. I suspect I may have enjoyed it a bit more had the block mechanic worked

sikosis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02am

Graphics were nice, though the attacking felt a little jerky and non-responsive in parts. Certainly fits the theme.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:07am

I like the death sounds haha.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06am

Good idea, maybe it would have been better with more visual feedback and animations ! Voices samples where funny

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Not a real challenge in all honestly.

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20am

Cool game, but it's a bit too easy to just spam LMB. :P

r8berto says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

It needs to be refined but it's a really good idea. This could be a nice mobile phone game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I like the idea, but feel it could use a little more, as others have said it felt a little too easy

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:59am

It feel like it didnt require anysklill to play the game. But i loved the blood

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Interesting gameplay with nice sound effects and music. The graphics and the gameplay need some polish but the concept is good. Nice entry ;-)

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]