Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A-W-E-S-O-M-E

by Cosmic5 - Jam Entry

A-W-E-S-O-M-E
Stands for
Alien World Evolution Survival Open Map Experience

Play as an alien creature with the incredible ability to eat organic matter and use it to evolve. Explore, fight, and evolve in an open world setting. Your surroundings are yours to conquer, but perhaps everything is not as it seems...

Okay, so AWESOME is not as awesome as intended. The Combat is funky. You can kind of kill enemies still by jumping on their heads, but you can't eat them or evolve :c You can however, jump around and explore the landscape, and you can still reach the end of the game though.

We would love any feedback you can give us, as we aspire to become better Gamedevs :3

Controls:
WASD - movement
Q and E turn the camera
Spacebar - Jump
LMB - Bite (doesn't really do anything)
escape - quit

The game has a lot of world to load when you start it up, and may take a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#490Mood(Jam)3.24
#586Graphics(Jam)3.31
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#1018Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51am

Its really A-W-E-S-O-M-E ))

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

the lowpoly trees and the music are quite beautiful. The mix of 3D environment with 2D sprites is quite weird.

Bastionride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Like that. But camera is terrible.
P.S. A character can attack, and in the end I see the concept art of enemies. The question is - where is the enemies?

tjxx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22am

It was fun! I really enjoyed the music and the art style of the monsters. Can't believe I climbed to the top of that hill for no reason... :)

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Hey, if you're having trouble finding enemies, the enemies will spawn while you are away. Currently, no enemies spawn in the purple habitat.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48am

Shows some promise. Could be something unique, and i like the paper cut out art style, but it's pretty clear that you didn't end up getting to implement everything you wanted to.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I like the 3D are and can see where you were going with this game. I think two things to look at would be getting world text to be the right size and using billboard 2D graphics so it's always facing the camera. Music is really nice :)

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

the game is fun but the tutorials were not the best and also collision... but overall pretty awesome

Trash Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:46am

I really liked this, even though you didn't finish and didn't quit hit the theme because of it. I quit loved the look and feel, and the sprites + 3d environment with crunchy music was really cool. I would have shrunken down the text and made it less blurry though, that was rough. Cool prototype!

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:47am

I recommend separate buttons for the right hand to turn the camera so I can move while turning. Great choice of colors, really adds to the ambience/mood. Too bad the biting didn't work!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:48am

Dang, really liked the music, the 2D art style, the funky radioactive environments, and the humor found in the dialogue. I would really be interested in seeing the post-mortem and the plans had.

And nice touch showing off the team at the end, hope you all had fun on this one, looking forward to seeing more from you guys in the future!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:13pm

It was fun!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Wow this game is really beatiful beac... Oh my god, I'm playing an ugly guy ! xD
The camera is a bit messy ...

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:12pm

@SayRafon Lol. yeah, the character you play as has a bunch of the possible evolutions you can receive on them. They weren't reset near the end of the game because the project got too big and fixing the character got pushed onto the low end of important tasks.

nuiguy says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:32am

Curious to see if anyone found the hidden can of Bonk! Atomic punch?

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Great and wonderful~
although it may seem not complete enough as originally expected,but it really give me a good and unique experience~
can feel it have a great concept, if build it by 2d, it may also great~(this art-style,and color's set, can be described as "魔性" in chinese~ )
about experience,when i leave the purple landscape and go into the shinny scene(yellow warm light),this transition let me feel sooo nice~ and also set off the hope of next scene~
the second bgm and this change let me flaming out!✪ ✪ pretty cool!( btw,it would be more better if these creatures in this world can more lively~XD in first scene ,for example ,i think it is nice enough that there are two orange-creature fold together and jump~jump XD )
In particular,the Final-Level,every member appear in game let me feel so amazing , also sooo humanity and much love!
impress me alot~ and really hope you guys do more great game/audio/artwork~
Happy new year~ ☆

geckojsc says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Yep, I found the bonk ;)

Nice level design, beautiful low-poly trees, enjoyed the parkour and button puzzles. You could definitely expand on those with more variety of buttons/puzzles and more challenging platforming.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I like the environment a lot. The game's performance is really poor, though, making me question if you've implemented any static batching or occlusion culling. I kind of like the exploration aspect of things, and finding silly easter eggs. The music is fantastic, too!

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Really nice game, good work!

Cosmic5 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:50pm

@Omiya Games
Yeah we didn't implement any really collision culling systems, we only used Unity's system. In the end it seemed to hold up to our needs, but it would have been nicer to have some unnecessary collision checking taken out.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:24am

Just love the weird world and characters in this game! The music also helps to give this game a very nice mood. I just wanted to keep exploring, too bad i did not get anymore interaction than the button. Even dying was not possible :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]