Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Peon

by Stanleys_Stoop - Compo Entry

Peon is a villager accumulation simulator. Play mini-games to collect resources and attract all the peons!

The resources are Fish, Wood and Crystals.

The amount of villagers you can have is based on how many Crystals you have. Each peon needs 1 Wood to spawn and peons will get hungry every so often and each a Fish.

While in the village view press X to cycle through the mini-game options and press Z to play the mini-game.

Fishing mini-game:
Repeatedly press Z to move the fish to the left and reel it in, but take not of the damage in the top left of the screen. If you reel in while the fish is struggling you can break your fishing pole and the fish will escape.
Press X to go back to village screen.

Wood-chopping mini-game:
Press Z when the end of the wood touches the white line to cut the right length of wood.
Press X to go back to village screen.

Mining mini-game:
Repeatedly press Z to mine each tile.
Press X to go back to village screen.

NOTE: Only works on Chrome, most-likely. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#619Innovation2.92
#629Humor2.00
#683Theme3.46
#743Graphics2.58
#825Mood2.25
#871Overall2.69
#919Fun2.23

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10am

This was interesting, I like the mini-game scheme and how there's multiple ways of incorporating just two buttons. Nice!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12am

I don't really understand the goals of the game. But it's lovely, and make mini game with only 2 buttons it's pretty cool. Good job !

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

I actually enjoyed the game and its one of the better ones that I've played so far, the wood cutting and fishing mini games are a little weird but make sense although on both the fishing and mining one you can just hold space and go really fast and rack up a ton of resources, I also like the little graves scattered when your whole village starves to death. The one thing this is missing is sound, even if its just little blips and boops when things happen, other than that I like it :)

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15am

I liked it but it doesn't take almost any effort to play! In fact in the mining section I can just hold down Z instead of pressing it and just mine away incredibly fast.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19am

I really liked the style of the sprites, they were simple and effective, and really good for something made from scratch during a jam. Really good use of both themes, I feel like using the two buttons contextually for a number of different minigames was a great idea! The minigames themselves seemed a bit easy, as for the crystals and fishing one, you could just hold Z and win, but the wood chopping one was a nice simple timing minigame. I think that this game had a great concept, but was hard to execute on given the time limit on the jam (so scope had to be small). I really think this could be a great game if the two-button restriction was taken away (to improve usability) and with more development time.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

I felt that the mini games used only one button.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Very innovative controls/gameplay. Really enjoyed the fishing game. Good use of the themes!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03am

It is cool to see your village grow and grow. The multiple mini game setup is also a cool way to get variety into a 2 button game. However, two of the mini games quickly boiled down to holding Z.

mattrified says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10am

I can't get it to work, :\

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Thank you all! I agree that all you had to do with the Mining and Fishing mini-games was to hold down the Z button. I messed with my input code quite a bit, but unfortunately I didn't have enough time to fix it.

@mattrified: What browser are you using?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Sorry but I didn't understand the mini-game (the wood part didn't work for me I think).
But with more work it can be really interesting, keep going ;)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:20am

Pretty cool. but on both the fishing and mining game if you just hold x you get resorces really fast.

yesandgames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:21am

I liked the concept of having simple mini games contribute to a meta game. The wood game didn't seem to be functioning properly, and personally I would argue that in this case the theme kind of gets in your way more than it helps you. One button always has to be "go back to town", and in town it just feels like a clunky way to select which mini game I want to play. Interesting concept though, would be awesome to see it expand!

doppelgunner says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:30am

web link error can't play

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]