Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spinning Around

by DinnerInTheDark - Jam Entry

WINDOWS DESKTOP VERSION is preferred for SUPERIOR GRAPHICS. WebGL is slower and on minimal graphics.

You play the role of a two-button-controlled robot in a circular platform & puzzle game. Solve the puzzles and save the princess!

Made by:
Simon Chuptys aka Simon@LD
Michiel Huygen aka mhgamework@LD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Overall(Jam)4.20
#69Fun(Jam)3.88
#82Innovation(Jam)3.85
#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#129Graphics(Jam)4.20
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#171Audio(Jam)3.64
#457Humor(Jam)2.74

Comments

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Fantastic! I really liked the entire aesthetic. Very polished feeling.

jhilven says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

That was pretty awesome! Loved the concept, the audio and the graphics. The game plays really smooth, great job guys!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I loved this game!!
3d graphics with 2d controls
Lovely audio
Lovely little guy
A fundament for a larger game :)

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Amazing graphics, fun game, congrats!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Excellent game. Nicely polished!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Great job! I really enjoyed it! I'd love to see more of this

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

cool game! the puzzles weren't really challenging at all, but it was still a cool take on the 2 button controls theme. good audio, decent graphics, and cool idea!

ceosol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I think this was a really neat concept. Sort of like a fez, but without the same exact puzzle mechanics. I did not really get why the robots swung their arms as if they were walking... If almost seems like remade models were used for them. Also, I would leave out the orbs. They did not serve any purpose for the game. In order to beat you, you were forced to collect all of the orbs anyway.

I would like to see this continued post comp. I think this would look and play great on mobile. You are have some nice puzzle mechanics. You could easily have ten levels as a tutorial teaching the player the base mechanics. Then make some levels with various interesting combinations.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Beautiful game and fun little puzzles. Really well done! Could picture it being a fun mobile game too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Nice style, feels like a good platform!

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Wow ! Amazing game, great sound, great graphics, great game design :D
Improvement can be the animations, when the character moves too abruptly it breaks a little bit the feeling of the game, and the sound of the rolling wheel could wear off progressively... but don't get me wrong, I'm just being picky, I would play the sequel for sure :D

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Loved it! A lot of fun and really beautiful!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

I really enjoyed playing it. You took the limitation of the 2 buttons and used it to create interesting 3d space with some nice puzzles. I liked how you used the teleporters so that the player could move along the radius of the cylinder.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Fantastic entry! Is really good!! I play It until the end

Si1ver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Dizziness...

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Good work,i liked a lot!

George says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Love the level/puzzle design and the concept, great job guys :)

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Lovely! Very creative and fun!

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great aesthetic! I love the perspective of looking inside of a Coliseum shaped structure. I wished there were a few more interesting puzzles using the mechanics as I walked through most of the game without needing to think much, however it's hard to design great puzzles in three days. Well done and extremely polished!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Really good puzzle game with simple yet great 3D-graphics. Love the spiral-shaped level design.

blackname says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I really like the graphics, music and that it runs so smooth. The only thing I miss are more puzzles and challenges.

Amazing job!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Love it!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Wonderfully designed puzzle in this game! A true gem. I really liked it and I was actually looking for more. Really enjoyed it.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

Damn! Very very cool. You should definitely continue on after the jam and make this into a full game to sell!

murlsousa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Amazing!! Very good and polished game, congratz

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Amazing! Good idea, excellent execution. One of the best games I've played on this jam so far :D

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22pm

So good! Very polished! Great level design!

I want to see what those robots do behind that final curtain!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Great little puzzle game! The gameplay mechanics were entertaining and interesting, and the art-style felt very smooth and polished. Keep up the good work!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very nice setting, tone and feel. This went on for much longer than I thought it would. I liked how the inner stairs built up as you progressed. Well designed. Bravo.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Very very very good puzzles you've made here. A nice cylindrical structure to explore. I sometimes got the feeling that maybe if I hadn't understood the puzzle correctly that could have pushed a block to where it wasn't retrievable. Maybe it wasn't true or you'd thought if it. But in any a case, I think it is important that the player can't end up in a fail state. The difficulty was perfect for me. Having to think some, but not getting frustrated anywhere. For there teleporters, it would have been nice if there was a trigger around them a bit larger than them that displayed some 'awareness' effect so that the player could know where the player would end up before jumping in to it. My one reservation would be that, while the effect of the other character following you up as you go up was really nicely done, the plot felt quite unnecessary. And even if deciding to keep the lovers' embrace in the end, if the player didn't know if it was a lover or an enemy monitoring the players progress, it would make for a more interesting story-dynamics while playing.

Great game though.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very good game. The graphics remind me a bit Monument Valley. I liked the mechanics of mini puzzles to continue rising. The game is very fun and very beautiful.
Just had some problems of low framerate, even with a computer that runs AAA games.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I'm really, really impressed! I recorded when I played and commented, and I'm uploading it here: https://youtu.be/emEg6Y1WH7k

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Gorgeous! Just gorgeous! Loved the whole feel of the game. Very relaxing, very pretty. The music paved the way for the 'smooth' feeling! Grand!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:59am

Cool game. Impressive cylindrical engine and graphics.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

This was a really neat game! I'd like to see this kind of idea expanded on. It would be fun.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:57am

This game looks beautiful and the puzzles feel really rewarding. Although I think most can be solved just by exploration I really really enjoyed the one with the three switches and the gates. Loved it.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Excellent entry! The game design rocks! Well done! ;)

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Very nice game with awesome graphics. I really like the concept of the game :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Amazing fantastic awesome excellent great! Loved the graphics gameplay puzzles :) kudos

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Wow! Awesome game! The low poly art is great, the mechanics are simple and the gameplay feels cool.
The only problem is that the game is to linear so the puzzles stops being puzzle.
Perfect premise to a great game! Keep working on this!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:52pm

great! just great! very well done!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Good job here!
The art is very cool! Make me think of Monument Valley :) and nive level design too!
Only negative feedback : try to differentiate triggers you have to activate one time and those you have to keep pushing.

wehard says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:01am

Nice game!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:34am

Very solid entry guys. I love the background so much and music combine perfectly.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Well done !
Very nice game.

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Nice puzzle, and good mood, well done !

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Great work! Very impressive in such a short time. The puzzle were fairly straight-forward, but the audio, art, and mechanics were very impressive.

nosfer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Great graphics and puzzles. Could be extended to full game with more levels :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Wow, just wow. Two guys in three days... I have no words, perfect!

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:11pm

So, I helped two robots find love! :')

I quite liked this game, the aesthetic reminded me a little of Monument Valley! I really enjoyed the core game mechanics - I think there's a lot of room to add further puzzle mechanics if you want to do a post-compo as well. The jazzy music was a nice touch!

Great work, keep it up! :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Cool Game Reminds me of Monument Valley!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Great entry! Very complete game, loved the circular tower style. very calming

jim3wg says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:39am

Nice game, you should realy share the way you "bend" levels in unity ! Did you bend everything together or by objects ?

bloomingbuds says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Nice game!

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Wow, this was so cool! One of the best entries. Awesome!

Strike says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:34pm

One of my favourite LD34 games. I really love the atmosphere of the game. Maybe the floor switches need a little improvement but except that, everything is perfect. Very clever way to go around the 2 themes together, mostly the growing part ;) Very good job.

utgarda says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Finished it! Awesome!

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:19am

This game was fun and it looked really nice! I liked the puzzles, and the music was pretty good too =P Great job! :)

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:36am

Very cool, I liked the fact that the princess robot was climbing in the center, even though it was a bit visually too much sometimes. Very cool level design as well :).

aensi says ...
Feb 13, 2016 @ 10:20am

Really cool, would love playing a full fledged game, or at least a longer one based on this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]