Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SportsRaces

by Patomkin - Jam Entry

Description

Join the competition with the head-banging action by choosing your own path and managing your resources!! And let's see if you have enough skill to use those 2 buttons in this growing sport event to get to the top of the tournament table!!

---

In this game we decided to focus on "Personal GROWth", as an athlete or a competitor, and the core gameplay consists of exactly 2 BUTTONS.

Controls:

ARROWS or AD keys
And a MOUSE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#180Humor(Jam)3.39
#310Fun(Jam)3.42
#384Overall(Jam)3.45
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#408Mood(Jam)3.34
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#840Theme(Jam)3.23
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09pm

1.Quite neat sprites and graphics.
2.The transition effects are really good, but a bit too long IMO..
3.The bouncing motion and control feels floaty, and the horizontal acceleration is too high.
4.Overall, it's a well made game!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Good game with a recognizable gameplay to control the uncomfortable and wonder what to eat and take other effects. Anyway, play with pleasure and went to the end.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:19pm

This game is very well designed and has alot of features for something you made in 72 hours:

I know others have said the controls feel floaty but I think that was intentional and a good choice-- it would be too easy otherwise.

The pre-race eating and store were a great difference in kind for the gameplay to break things up between races


It was definitely alot of fun. My only criticism is I think you really tried to jam in alot of stuff that fir the grow theme in order to check both 'two button' and 'grow' off the list-- it was fine as just being a two button game in my opinion.

Nice work, my friend.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:21pm

really really cool art style! loved it a lot! but the controls was very sensitive, which made it kinda a hard.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Cool game! The menu selections in between games made things more interesting. Awesome UI work and overall presentation is great, but maybe speed up the transitions between screens. The gameplay was a bit too easy too, once you got used to the controls. Nice work overall though!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Nice art, nice screen transactions and really funny game!

I laugh a lot!

I just feel was missing a lot the background music!

Congratulations for the work!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Huh, rare to see GUIs in LD with this amount of effort gone into them. On the other hand, the crude sprites aren't exactly a treat for the eyes.

This sort of interpretation of the theme could easily be an excuse, but it's actually been worked into the game well enough. The whole ranking thing is a solid framework for keeping an otherwise simplistic game interesting.

Now, the actual gameplay has Unity Physics(TM) written all over it. Too much focus on acceleration and not enough on dampening. The result is a velocity curve that swooshes all over the place, making basic control an unnecessary hassle. (And no, the possible comedy aspect isn't enough of a defense.)

I'm intrigued, but get your differential equations together.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Really cool game. Loved the sim aspect of it.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Looks like the seed of a really well-presented game. The clever choices between days was a neat addition but it did feel like I was primarily playing the menus, almost as though the game was an afterthought. I died too quickly and had to slog through menus to restart, since the controls were unforgiving. Looks like it could have been squeezed into a true 2 button experience down to the menus!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Very nice little game. The menu effects and the sounds are super slick. The only negative point is perma-death as you loose. I think youu need to give the player a chance to restore and try again.

vortex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Wow... Those were some fancy transitions for a ludum dare game!!! Really liked the weird effects...

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

Nice. I didn't get a good sense of the theme from the game, and some music would have been nice. Nice visual aesthetic though!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I loved the challenge, even the floaty controls felt good. This should the apple store!

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:42pm

This was incredibly fun. I love the huge variety of characters, though it's a shame the in-game tree climbing character didn't have a different sprite. The options after each round were hilarious, and i loved it. keep up the great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]