Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Electric

by Madsj - Compo Entry

The objective of the game is to survive and reach the end

You control the game with 2 buttons - The Right and Left arrow key

You can press them both down simultaneously to stand still and use a Nuke

You can pick up a Powerup to gain 1 life, 1 Nuke and fire a Nuke

If a Nuke is fired, the walls become electric. If you touch an electric wall you will become Electric and immune for 1 hit. If you are Electric and touch another electric wall, you become Super Electric and invincible for 5 seconds

F5 to Restart

Esc to quit

Playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLBLRcf9-is

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#98Audio3.67
#226Mood3.37
#245Fun3.49
#339Overall3.41
#566Humor2.19
#598Graphics2.89
#648Innovation2.86
#673Theme3.49

Comments

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13am

A fun game, good music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

Awesome music. Graphics were simple but work well. Gameplay feels good, could use a little more variety.

RiOrius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Great music. Fun game, although I thought it was a bit too hard to play it the "right" way, so I ended up just holding L+R all the time to stand still. It means you can't really use nukes, but the increased maneuverability was totally worth it!

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44am

Arr. So many lovely-looking entries that are Windows-only.
Perhaps I can arrange to borrow a PC from a sympathetic associate.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54am

Loved the retro feel. A bit too challenging. Great two button controls. Wonderful audio. Thanks for the submission!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

I'm so stressed by the controls! But the idea is very cool! And gamefeel is pretty good too.
I had problem to launch the game, but I think it came from my antivirus...

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46am

i love it,great music, good gameplay. Congrat!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

Great sound. Graphics really fit the style. Personally I found the constantly moving back and forth a little annoying, would prefer just moving left/right with the keys.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Very hard game, maybe a little too much for my tastes...

ripatti says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Very fun game but a bit unintuitive. Very like the music.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Simple graphics, nice music, but sreering is very odd.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

Like the art style and music. I felt a little out of control, not being able to stop moving. It was fun nuking those squares tho

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10am

Simple- but does the job. Well done!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Woo! The game is very addictive, I love it :-) Good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I enjoyed this game and liked the simplicity of it. The only issue I had was the controls, which I find problematic. I'm sure that being able to stop and not being constantly moving would allow the player to move with more accuracy and thus, make the game more fun and fair.

Great job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:56am

The music is absolutely killer! Even more so that it was done by the same person who did the art and programming! Wish there was a neutral state as I kept running into enemies and accidentally missing power ups. Great overall though!

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I like the mechanics but it feels a bit unintuitive. Not a fan of powerups being overlaid by squares most of the time.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Really fun and adictive game, Great job!

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Cool game! Enjoyed the invincibility mode and the nukes! Should be a countdown for invincibility though.

rujo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:00am

simple idea, simple mechanics and very nice style!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Wow, this was intense! Simple and fun. Nice sound!
A pitty there is no highscore.

ninos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very nice game, simple but awesome :D

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:03am

Was fun and interesting once I got used to it, but it definitely needed some introduction to the mechanics in some fashion, be it a (much) slower start or a tutorial mode, as my first few attempts ended quite quickly given the fast start the game has.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]