Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Iai Strike!

by DeepBlueJeer - Jam Entry

Here's our game! It's called Iai Strike. Our team is composed of five devs:
- Andrea Ishizawa, the 2D/3D artist
- Caio Contó, the 2D/3D artist
- Renato "Xel" de Paula, the jack of all trades and game designer
- Tiago Higa, the 3D artist
- Victor Lucki, the programmer

We started the development late, so there wasn't enough time (again) to finish the game. We did what we could.
The game is an Endless Runner. To score, you need to defeat the enemies - that means you need to dodge as close as possible to attack the enemy with the Iai Strike technique. With enough defeated enemies, you can use the blunderbuss to defeat enemies from afar.

Controls:
A/D ou Left/Right move the character.
Press the 2-buttons simultaneously to use the Special Attack (you need to defeat 5 enemies first).


The main character name is Jouji Washingpole. He needs to protect the Shogun Castle from the attack of the Thief Clan. Jouji Washingpole is a pun on the name George Washington - the japanese pronounce "George" like "Jouji" and there's a legendary katana/nodai called Washingpole.

Credits for the sounds and music:

Silver Samurai by Daniel Deluxe (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/568453)

Dodge and Slash SFX: nextmaking (https://www.freesound.org/people/nextmaking/sounds/86048/)


hit SFX: thefsoundman (https://www.freesound.org/people/thefsoundman/sounds/118513/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#446Graphics(Jam)3.59
#731Theme(Jam)3.42
#741Humor(Jam)2.19
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#864Overall(Jam)2.91
#883Mood(Jam)2.60
#940Innovation(Jam)2.38

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Windows download is asking for a decryption key?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Cool mechanic that you have to get close to the guys to kill them!!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

nice graphics. well done takes some time to get used to the controls.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

interesting concept but lacks motivation. if you plan to finish the game you might want to add a satisfying animation for the special attack and maybe a combo meter (?) for challenging players

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

nice little runner game. i enjoyed playing it. and the graphics were nice and fresh.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

You have the exact insperation as my entry, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=38755
--that surprised me! but the gameplay is different. I liked it, it's a shame it wasn't finished

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

This game is fun and addicting. It has a neat art style too. I think this would be a good mobile game. I have to say it took me while to realize that I had to move away from the enemies to attack them though.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

i love the graphics, and the mechanic is solid too good work!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

very nice runner! fun and addictiv!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Couldn't seem to get the blunderbuss to fire, not sure if I never lived long enough to kill 5 enemies or it just didn't have any visual/audio effects...

Si1ver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Unorthodox camera for runner

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49pm

So it was really hard to press the buttons at the same time but other than that I liked it a lot ^.^

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26am

Really fun game.

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

The proximity mechanic was very creative. Well done! Would have been even better if I could figure out what the special attack did, though.

OwT says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice game, I like the graphics which maches with the Japanese culture, which I love!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:11am

Nice models, cool title screens.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:54am

The lack of animations made it very unclear what was happening at times. I was unsure of whether the attack/special attack was working.

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:28pm

It looks preaty ! ;)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Ey, this is a AAA runner. 3d Graphics, good perspective and easy control. Maybe the 2 pressed buttons at same time are not so responsive, but the idea is good. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]