Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Scrap Yard Racing

by lastnerd - Compo Entry

Racing game where you can only control direction of your car using arrow keys on keyboard. You have to pass all checkpoints. Touching anything else means immediate loss.
First game for compo was too bad so I had no choice but to create something else in less than 8 hours. So enjoy!
Source code: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxuOEFCE3umFTkFMODdYN09kYVU/view?usp=sharing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#301Fun3.39
#439Overall3.29
#490Graphics3.07
#522Humor2.29
#599Theme3.58
#607Mood2.79
#820Innovation2.50

Comments

Kapura says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:58pm

This is very fun! Well done not letting the not-game get in the way of the game. Quick cycles and fair gameplay work well!

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Impressive level count and a cool setting for a racing game.
Unfortunately not very challenging, but very impressive for 8 hours.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

Very fun! Big, download, however. Still, very impressive for 8 hours!

Luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34am

Simple and fun. I like it :D

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Very impressive for 8 hours. Had lots of fun playing it. Good job

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Quite fun, it would have been cool to have some sounds in there !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Nice game, good variation of levels with a few simple assets. Good difficulty, I played though all the levels only dying a few times.

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Nice job ramping up the difficulty over the course of the levels!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Simple, well made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Great fun and a tidy little design. Nice

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Nice game, simple and funny :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:39pm

I liked the level design!
Goooooood job

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Like the simplicity. Sweat!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Ups, i meant "sweet!"

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Had quite a lot of fun with this. Good job putting it together in 8 hours. Audio would have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]