Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SNAP!

by domo_demo - Jam Entry

Hey! This is my very first game and gamejam, SNAP!

You have to keep the power on to let people appreciate the show! Two buttons, left and right of the stage must be regularly reactivate by pressing (Space) on it. People will send flowers to thank you , you can pick them up and deliver them to the singer to gain more points.
->if the generator drops a battery, you can use it to run faster!

////////CONTROLS////////
Left = Left Arrow
Right = Right Arrow
Jump = Up Arrow
Push = Space
Ladder = Up / Down Arrow
Jump out the ladder = Right or Left Arrow + Up Arrow

I had so many things to add in this game, so many ideas, but so little time.. i'm new in game making, so be cool with me ^^

Have fun =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#398Humor(Jam)2.85
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#848Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Cool game, found it tricky to get off the ladders but once I'd sorted that I figured out what I was supposed to be doing.

You should add a guide on this page for people.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Overall it's not a bad game. Quite fun I'd say. But the controls are too clumsy. A lot of the game is not clear in the beginning. Especially how to get off of the ladder. The goal was unclear too. The music is nice, but it doesn't fit the setting very well. One last thing: some polish would've make it much better. E.g. random texts appearing around that man, ovations (or boos when it gets dark), some introductory narrative.

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I like the low file size, that made it easy to download as my internet has been pretty awful this time around.

It's okay, my main nitpick is that I don't like how it's fullscreen by default. Other than that, okay entry.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Love the mood and the effects. And I don't think the game needs more of an explanation, it's pretty simple as it is.
Unfortunately for such a fast-paced, skill based game the controls are too hard/glitchy, especially jumping off ladders.
Otherwise it's a lot of fun and it looks really polished, well done.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I liked it! Didn't get it at first, but I liked it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28pm

it is one of the few games pixel-art that I liked. great job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This is so good!! That music and them light effects really set an oppressing mood and the concept in itself is very nice. I love that you have to chose between keeping it safe and stay by the buttons or go for the points. Amazing first entry, hope to see you around next LD!

rujo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:37am

graphics are superb, i really like the style

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:26am

Nice mood and style, however the gameplay is not very exciting

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Interesting idea. I like the effects when you get superspeed power :)

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

odd game, but fun game

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Really nice game,
My Hi-Score was 3581!

Nice artwork!

Was a bit confused in the start, maybe a tutorial should help!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Hey there! :)

This game was quite simple but pretty fun and polished.

well done!

AlexHonor says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

A quite interesting game, but controls are driving me mad. Epesialy ladders. They just freak me out ( You have to press Up arrow and right or left one to jump off the ladder and small collision box of ladder, which is extremely hard to descend. )

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:40pm

It's a really cool concept, and the style is really spot on. There are a couple things that would make a huge difference. The first one is explanation: at first, I have no idea what I'm doing or what these buttons do, and I don't even know that there are two buttons to press until it says "game over". The second one is the platformer physics. I would get stuck on a ladder that I'm trying to dismount, desperatly trying to reach a button that is only a couple feet away, and then I'd end up jumping over the button and I'd have to climb back up to try again. Anyway, this game is one of my favorites this round.

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Nice pixel art ;)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Interesting concept, effects and theme. I like the art, sound and mechanics. Maybe at first I did not understand well the game,but later I enjoyed it a lot :-D

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Nice graphics, and awesome music! Cool game too! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]