Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Botany

by Steven Miller - Compo Entry

Made in 48 hours by Steven Miller for Ludum Dare 34.

Theme: Growing

You are a plant. The military is coming after you. Defeat them in order to stay alive. Bite, shoot acid, and create plants to fight them off.

Tools Used:

GameMaker Studio (Code and art)

Audacity (Sound)

Hydrogen (Music)

Features:

13 Enemy types

3 Bosses

9 Sections of dialogue

21 Levels of combat

A true heart-warming story about hope, perseverance, and the triumph of the human spirit

Some audio

Controls:

WASD/ Arrow Keys - Move
LMB - Bite/ Advance dialogue
RMB - Shoot Acid

Hold Spacebar + LMB - Shoot seed

Hold Spacebar + Hold RMB - Shoot Water (to grow plants)

Escape - Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#26Fun4.02
#52Overall3.98
#66Humor3.68
#148Mood3.54
#188Innovation3.67
#272Theme3.97
#304Graphics3.44
#354Audio2.92

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07am

Love this! I had a good time with this game, Great job!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Great game! Like the pixel art :D

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14am

Oustanding! My favorite entry so far. Really awesome job in only 48 hours!

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Fun gameplay, although it's a lot of buttons to remember. I think a mode toggle would help, rather than holding a button. I enjoyed the writing as well.

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

The text was pretty hard to read and the game got really difficult towards the end but other than that, pretty solid entry. With a bit of fine tuning this could be a solid product.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

Such a nice one here. Gameplay gave me really good surprises. Nice one. The seeds mechanic just makes it crazy, you can troll bosses around. Nice story too.
I wish it was a bit more polished on the graphics and effects.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Great game - my favorite so far! I played all the way to the end and wanted more when I was done.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27am

Brilliant. Really polished. Gameplay was good (liked planting the seeds then kiting enemies round them), dialog was good. Liked how a little intro set the scene too.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45am

great game

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

Text got a bit hard to read and I'm not sure I ever really figured out what planting seeds and shooting water at them really did.
Graphics were good though. And was there sound? There's a volume control on the main menu but I turned it up all the way and I couldn't hear anything.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11pm

There is sound, but it is very quiet.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

great job,, congratulations

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Amazing concept, very well executed. I'd love to see this expanded into a full game.

I feel there was a lack of feedback when biting enemies.
Also the music was a cacophony, but that's understandable considering most devs aren't musicians.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

Fantactic game! Love how it can be played as a top down shooter or a pseudo tower defense and support game. I think it would have made sense to can one of the normal attacks and made the controls: spacebar - normal attack, left click - seed, right click - water. Just to make things a little simpler. The intro was a great touch by the way!

Yazara says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Awesome game! Quite a lot of content for 48 hours, I really liked the dialogues as well!
The only thing I missed was an option to hold down your button to keep shooting/ biting.

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28am

It is a nice tower defense game. I beat one boss but the later levels were too hard to me. The creepy music was oddly fitting to the atmosphere. Liked the cutscenes too. Good job.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really a great entry, at first I played it kind of like a tower defense, but eventually I came to realize it felt better as a twin stick shooter-ish game.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Great game!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Wow, fantastic job. The concept was pretty unique, the puns were on point, and the gameplay was smooth and interesting. Nice entry!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

The chorded input was a little difficult to get used to, but by about half way through the game I got the hang of it and felt proficient. I enjoyed the humor and the final boss fight. Really well done!

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20am

Fun game. Varied ways to take out enemies was nice. I enjoyed planting then sustaining them with water. Dialogue was a great touch. Well done.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26am

Great work on the game. Loved the AI and the part where I though I was playing with the businessman.

The game get boring really fast without some fresh mechanics.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46am

Art and humor were great! Found the control scheme a bit hard to get used to but the levels had a nice feel.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Pretty awesome game here, nice art, well executed!

skripteriant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37pm

awesome, the game play was great and the pixel art was very good, I hope you continue working on this.

Krafty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:11am

This was a lot of fun! It looked good and the story was interesting!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:56pm

+ Unique game.
+ Fun gameplay.

- Graphics could be better.
- Lack of audio.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

There is audio!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:00am

Loved the planting mechanic. I loved how each plant had it's own qualities, and combining the run and gun with almost tower defense gameplay was really interesting. Very funny writing, and surprisingly large amount of content for a compo entry. Great job!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Excellent, I'll probably be keeping this game to play later, which is not usual for an LD game - my favorite so far. I liked the mechanic of growing other plants to help you.

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Amazed at how much content is in here. Dialog/puns were fantastic. I also saw you on OnlySlightly's stream when your game was played - you're obviously an amazing talent. I look forward to your next LD 35 entry.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Enjoyed playing this. The artwork was great too.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:19am

Possibly the best game I've played from this competition. Very polished, very funny... just great :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Great job man, this one really stands out. It uses teh theme well, theres a decent amount of gameplay and story here for a 72 hour game. Also pretty good use of enemy placement for your mechanics-- alot of guys hiding around corners so you have to plant your random plant monsters and then bite and kite. Awesome.

I was surprised to play as the plant, I thiought I was gonna be Joe (or whoever) and the plants were gonna be bad guys. I am glad I was wrong.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

The transition from certain levels ending to "exposition" was to abrupt. Example you kill a boss and it immediately transition to the text. Art and music was on point. I did find it funny but also forced and cheesy at times. Everything else I didn't have any issues with good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]