Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

UpgradeShipWinGame

by Digitaldude555 - Jam Entry

Hold left mouse button to fire.


Hold Z to use debris magnet


Every 100 debris you get to upgrade the ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#711Audio(Jam)2.00
#765Fun(Jam)2.85
#871Mood(Jam)2.63
#928Overall(Jam)2.81
#933Graphics(Jam)2.42
#940Innovation(Jam)2.38
#961Theme(Jam)2.92

Comments

im-oab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

If magnet button is right click it will be great. :)

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

The debris magnet should be automatic in my opinion, but otherwise fun game

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Not bad, an auto magnet would be nice :)

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

Really intense galaga-style game. I quite liked the balance between going out and collecting debris and trying to avoid incoming ships. The upgrades were timed quite well but I thought the sound / enemies were a bit samey. Still, no bugs, the game ran smoothly and reliably, good work.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

vote for automagnet too. ;)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Magnet button seems a bit meaningless since you have to keep it held down. Might work better if it was a timed power or something that you could only use once in awhile. Graphics ok but the lack of any sound (unless you get two bullets) was a bit annoying. I like the idea though

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

automagnet++ as well.

not sure about the horizontal thingies also considering they are impossible to shoot.

overall, run well and quite enjoyable, good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

It seems like everyone wants automagnet. If I develop this game any further I will make it automatic, but it's too late for the jam.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Interesting concept. I'm not sure if I'm for an automagnet or for some sort of energy bar which the magnet consumes. A promising start, I would say

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29am

In fact, this game could be better with auto magnet and auto fire, because I play it almost hold that two buttons all the way till I die.

canon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice risk-reward mechanic with having to go out and collect debris while avoiding enemies. Would like to see a reason to not have the magnet on all the time (an energy meter, maybe?), and also to have the debris look more distinct from the other enemies.

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Fun. Tough to decide if its worth risking damage to collect junk. good risk reward.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Fun game but a bit too short.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]