Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

supesuatakku

by moisesjbc - Jam Entry

# Background

Superuatakku, the code name of a secret experiment conducted by our government that tried to solve hunger by creating ever-growing cattle. But something went wrong. The lead scientist's cat pushed the wrong button and got trapped in the explosion that followed, creating the crater where you now stand between our world and its almost certain doom.

Superuatakku's creation will grow fast, consuming the world in two minutes if not stopped, defending itself with an army of evil kitty clones that will also grow when shot... until they explode. Make your way to the core and shut Superuatakku down! Shoot, SHOOT!

# Controls

W,S,A,D - movement
Mouse move - aim
Mouse button - shoot

# Developed in Ludum Dare Gran Canaria 2015 by team 404

## Graphics and sound

- Joaquín Yeray Martín de la Nuez
- Zayyán Perera Sosa

## Programming

- Luis Antón Canalis
- Moisés J. Bonilla Caraballo
- Cynthia Ramos Martínez

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#710Graphics(Jam)3.06
#765Innovation(Jam)2.75
#851Overall(Jam)2.94
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Roffe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Nice low-poly graphics. The monsters sound got quite annoying when there were several monsters but overall an OK game. Good job :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Growing jello cats were pretty cool. Are they actually 3D or billboards? Wasn't too sure what "the core" was for the boss to shoot. Thought it was the bluish green orbs but shooting those seemed to be inconsistent for lowering the boss life.

moisesjbc says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Thanks Roffe and SeaLeft!

Roffe: we agree. We wanted to change that sound but didn't have time ^^U.

SeaLeft: the cats are 3D :) About the boss, every bullet does 1pt damage. Maybe you were shooting from a far position? In the first versions some people who tested the game run away and shot like a sniper, so we reduced the maximum shoot distance. Maybe we should have added some effect to show when the bullet disappears.

exhidor says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

ahha pretty nice game, I had a lot of fun to shoot giant 3D monsters !
Comments about sound are the same :)
Good job

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:36am

Nice game.

Please remember that "Web" means you don't have to download anything, but it plays in your browser. You can just upload the file structure to your dropbox.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:39am

I liked the inclusion of the evil space kittens. Also felt a bit unsure exactly where to shoot for the core and then my hand cramped up a bit so I had to stop ;)

radmars says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice! Would be better if you could hold down the button to shoot, and if the boss were more obvious, as I couldn't really find it.

Bobrocket says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:02pm

My hand now hurts lol. I must be stupid but i couldn't find the boss core. Otherwise very cool, reminds me of a small game Notch made.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I liked the growing space kittens! :3
Though, I wasn't really sure what my main objective was.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Quite scary! Tried to run but the bullets didn't work from far away so had to charge. Killed a few then got killed nice work for the compo.

Linear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:11pm

I... don't know what to make of this game. It is very strange.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]