Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowBot

by zagony - Compo Entry

GrowBot is a platformer game where you play as a little robot, but you can grow into a big robot in order to solve puzzles and finish levels.

The game has 5 levels. Depending on the feedback here I may choose to add more. I'm proud with how the game turned out, but next time I am going to make sure that I spend a little less time on art and more time on content, since the game is really short (even for one made in a weekend.)

This was my second Ludum Dare, and I had fun again, so you can all expect to see me for the next one.

-zagony

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Audio3.44
#238Overall3.56
#274Graphics3.50
#274Fun3.44
#355Theme3.88
#668Innovation2.81
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

Very nice game! Nice balance of getting all parts done.. graphics, gameplay, music, levels and so on, good job! Controls felt a bit floaty for a platformer for my taste.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

The growing mechanic was really cool. The game was fun and i got pretty sad when it ended so quickly.

Braidenator says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

GrowBot was really quite fun to play. The music started out a bit average but it soon got very intense, which suited the fast-paced feeling I got from playing it.
The controls when the robot was big was a bit antsy, I felt like I was going to fall off the side of the platforms and fail, but I managed to finish it easily.
Controlling the little robot was really intuitive, and the sounds it made when it jumped gave me a bit of a nostalgia feeling, reminding me of Mario and some other older platformer games.
I felt like the camera was zoomed in a little too much when on the little robot. I like to be able to see where I am trying to get to without venturing too close to the edge of the platforms, so a zoom feature would have been nice.
GrowBot stuck to the theme quite well. You can be a small robot, or you can grow to a larger robot for a limited amount of time to help you in solving the puzzles. I thought this was actually quite original in platformer puzzle games and is why I gave 4/5 stars in innovation.
The graphics were pleasing to look at. They weren't overly detailed and they also weren't simple "programmer's art", which was nice.
If there were more than five levels, it would have been an extremely fun way to pass the time.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Great concept with an interesting use of the theme. I quite like the art style although large bot looks out of place against the rest of the game art.

Overall great job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really funny take on the theme grow. I like the different tiles for the floor! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

Moebius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice game! Only thing that bugs me was that you put growing on space when normally that key is used for jumping. Maybe it would be better to use some other key for that ;)

ripatti says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Interesting concept. I like Schwarzenegger body of the bot in the grown mode. Controls are a bit inert.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Controls nee to be a bit tighter - the sliding feels a bit off. Good work for a weekend though. Some polish and this can be a fun little game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Controls were a bit hard, but I enjoyed it very much overall! Growbot is very cute!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Very nice game, but too short as you said. That muscular body when you grow was a nice touch. As some other comments mentioned, the controls feel floaty but it doesn't break the enjoyement of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]