Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Surface

by Porcus_Pie - Compo Entry

Trapped underground, make your way towards the surface.
I am not a pro, so this game is not too good. However it is still fun (hopefully.
This game uses the two mouse buttons.
Enjoy

I am thinking about making an improved Post-Compo version in the form of a metroidvania. As well as bug fixes, I am curious what else I could add to my game. Thanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#509Audio2.58
#618Mood2.78
#648Innovation2.86
#796Theme3.26
#821Graphics2.37
#845Fun2.53
#877Overall2.67

Comments

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

I like the concept, but the game is buggy as all hell. My player got stuck many times forcing me to restart from the beginning.

On a strong point, the lighting and background static really helped give a dark mood.

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

You sometimes get stuck and the movement is a bit glitchy. Nice audio and idea.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice work here. I had bugs too, the stickman is stucked against walls. But the level design is good. And I see what you wanted to do here, and it is cool. Sound design was cool too.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice, quick platformer experience. It took a minute to understand the controls, but it feels good once you understand it.
Just the right amount of levels for a game jam game.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

You het stuck a lot. The hook could be a bit faster.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42am

Really liked the concept. As has been said, a bit buggy. Fix those and polish up and you may have a long-term project worth pursuing! Great job!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55am

Interesting idea but as others said really buggy

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57am

Controls are definitely a bit sketchy.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

Interesting idea, but very buggy unfortunately.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36am

Dude, I really like what you did. Yeah, it's buggy as all hell(mine has bugs too. they happen), and yeah, it's hard to make it past level 3 without getting stuck in a wall, but you know what, it's an awesome concept and you did awesome for 48 hours!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36am

Is there a possibility of a mac or a web version ?

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52am

I like the idea and the atmosphere. This has a lot of potential but it's pretty buggy at the moment. Awesome submission for 48 hours. Well done.

Shurty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30pm

A nice innovative game. like others said : it needs some polish & debug.
Nice atmosphere too :)

thedashdude says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08am

It is buggy, but still pretty fun. I wish when you did the grapple, either your mouse froze, the animation was quicker, or shot where your mouse was after you clicked, because many times I clicked and moved my mouse away, only to then throw my grapple into a death block.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18am

A bit buggy getting stuck a lot but the idea is cool - if you take it farther I could see this being interesting.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:26pm

THe idea is pretty original, but the bugs in the game make it almost unplayable. I always get stuck into blocks.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Interesting idea, but I kept getting the character stuck!
The backgrounds were cool though!

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:11am

Pretty good concept. Other than the occasional buggyness it is pretty good. Well done!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:59am

Cool idea, but there are a lot of bugs in the game, first time I played my player glitched in the wall, and in the last level, I didn't have that feeling of reaching the surface, I was just reaching a purple orb, not exactly escaping. Overall, it was interesting! =)

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:14pm

It looks good and it is good ! ;) :))))

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:17am

Pro:
+ Very neat concept
+ Mood is great
Con:
- Too many bugs in movement and collision
- Graphics give a nice mood but they are too inconsistent (very pixelated background, regular sprites for ground tiles and well animated character)

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]