Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lightreach

by cadaeibfe - Compo Entry

About Lightreach:

You control a plant by making it grow with the Z and X keys.
Z grows the plant straight up.
X splits into two branches that grow at an angle.
The goal is to make the plant grow until it reaches all the patches of light
before running out of nutrients.

Tools used:

Python with Pygame
PyCharm community edition
Gimp
Bfxr
py2exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#14Theme4.46
#16Innovation4.25
#53Fun3.89
#99Overall3.82
#181Mood3.46
#456Graphics3.14
#504Audio2.59

Comments

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11am

This game is loads of fun, and while I'm not particularly fond of the art style the great puzzles made up for it.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

This is neat, but I became bored rather quickly.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

Clever idea fpr a puzzle game! Nice work!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice game. It's awesome that you were able to do both themes.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I always love to play good puzzle games. You fit that theme perfect. Good game mechanics... very nice level design. It's even nice to see some one coding in pygame :D Good job

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nicely done puzzle game! I liked that new elements were introduced level by level.
Could maybe be extended to a level system in which you can solve levels differently good. So you dont need to reach all lights everytime, just for a perfect game.

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I wish there were more puzzles :) Nice work

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

The concept is very nice, this is a nice little puzzle game, very good work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Ey, I ended the whole game! I really love it, great concept and very addictive. Cool entry!

ripatti says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Interesting puzzle game. It's very similar to my game for this LD.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43am

Needs more branching factor for solutions to be interesting to me I guess. Well-made entry though!

blubberquark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Great puzzles, great use of the theme. I wish the switches were connected to the bricks by wires. Right now you have to play the level one time to find out.

-bob

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55pm

A good puzzle mechanic with solid tutorial progression. All it needs is more levels and some indication on what those switches do. Trial and error quickly becomes a bore.

Acerio says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really enjoyed the puzzles, felt like a really solid idea for a game.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I like it! I finished all the levels and wanted more.

Very good level design - which is not an easy task in 48 hours - and difficulty progression. Congratulations.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:32pm

keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]