Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SideQuest

by MorseAmalgam - Compo Entry

In SideQuest you take control of a valiant… ish hero… kind of person. Who is exceedingly prone to taking up any old task that comes to mind. Gameplay is fairly simple - You are given a diverging path with different opportunities of… varying degrees of adventure. The game is completed by remembering what you were sent to do and doing it - without getting enticed by whatever the other path offers.

Mostly just challenging myself to follow through.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#53Humor3.78
#362Theme3.87
#401Innovation3.28
#503Mood2.93
#519Overall3.19
#617Fun2.97

Comments

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

I enjoyed the idea of the main quest completely ending the game. It encourages actively avoiding the main quest, which is something I do anyway. Past that, there's not really much to do. Congrats on finishing a game!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

I wanted to finish, but kept getting side tracked Kappa

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

Haha, this is cute. Would love to see made longer!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

Surprisingly enjoyable! Avoiding your quest is harder than it looks. Level 6 was a slog, and I ended the game shortly after getting to level 7. Would be cool if there was a secret ending. Thanks for the game!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42am

Haha what a brilliant idea! I love to see more of this game but it is a bit too short.

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Neat dialog tree. Definitely one of the more novel games out there!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

At first I was confused why doing the quest was ending my game, and I re-read the title and felt dumb...

Anyway, nice little game. It's simple, but solid and well done. Good job..

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40am

This made me smile. At first, I didn't understand why it was so short! Nice execution of a funny idea!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

heh.. funny idea... I was more interested about side quests than the main one.. :B

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I find the concept funny and interesting.
But I found your game a little bit short/ with not enought content.
I was a good experience =)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

*it was a good experience(sorry for double post)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Heh, that was cool. This is just me in every RPG I play.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Great idea and humor here.
Sadly, it's lacks of sound

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Nice idea! It was pretty fun but maybe a bit short

huminaboz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:46am

Great tongue-in-cheek commentary on the side quest/main quest dichotomy of RPGs

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Interesting text-choosing game but much better metagame in it :-) I love the idea and I would like see it with more options and more work on it. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]