Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frank & Stein

by vegapomme27 - Compo Entry

PLEASE PLAY THE DOWNLOAD VERSION FOR A BETTER EXPERIENCE

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Frank & Stein are linked by a common organ, so they have to stay together. You will have to lead those two... "heroes"... through the 8 short levels of the lab, controlling both of them at the same time, forcing cooperation in traps and combat to make it to the end.

Please try the game ! I'm always looking for suggestions and advice.

-8 LEVELS
-1 BOSS

I used Construct 2 to build the game, with Paint & Photofiltre as graphic tools plus FL studio and Audacity for sound design and music composing. I had such a great time.

My tumblr : http://vegamukiwa.tumblr.com/



::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

12/14.OS/X export not working. Tryin to fix the issue...
Uploaded web version.

12/15. Wrote a postmortem on my tumblr http://vegamukiwa.tumblr.com/post/135244765676/about-making-two-buttons-games-and-force-player-to

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.47
Coolness63%
#6Mood4.39
#7Innovation4.35
#7Audio4.28
#9Theme4.49
#10Fun4.22
#16Humor4.02
#34Graphics4.37

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54am

Looks great! Awesome stuff!

ryofougere says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09am

YEY!
Well done !

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40am

this is unbelievably well done.I can't imagine how something this good can be done in 48h.
Graphics, sounds, music, gameplay everything is amazing!
It is a perfection.
I thought at first it was a jam game.

Dianouille says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00am

Great ! I loved playing it ! Really great gameplay. And the graphics are good too. Really, really good job ! Congrats !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

Wow, gorgeous game.
Kinda frustrating, because you die a lot.
Really great work!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

That was super cool! :D Loved the graphics and the mechanics.

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

Great game and awesome stuff, really fun to play for a game that was made in 48h

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

This is the first 5-star game I've rated in this compo. Great work!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Looks rad, very atmospheric game! Good job!

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really good game with nice graphics, the music is good and the game has a funny theme.
5 Stars

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Very well done! The graphics are amazing!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Wow, this is really, really well done!
Great job! :D

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:36pm

This would be a good game if it wasn't made in 48 hours! The only thing I can fault is the text (the anti-aliasing doesn't fit the game) but that's if I'm being really picky! My favourite entry so far!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very Nice one, the scene is just a bit too dark for me but nice concept

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Very good!

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Clever and gruesome. I always like when the puzzle mechanics are tied into the story!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Great idea and execution. Lovely and rich graphics, very nice sounds, interesting gameplay and all is kinda funny. complete entry, very impressing :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

ooooh, looks amazing, plays amazing. stuff of legends. spot on theme and top notch in all aspects. stunning. cant believe this is LD game... awesome job.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

Amazing game. Although a bit too difficult and unforgiving for my taste.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12am

@sathorn
Totally agree ahah, I wish difficulty was more progressive, but I had to make it harsh on early stages coz I didn't have time to make a lot of levels. Since it had to be short, I wanted it intense.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Btw thanks to all for nice comments

im-oab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22am

I really enjoy this game. Nice work. :)

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33am

love it, really great concept!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

super fun~! very well made~!

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

wow! I'm impressed.

Ingon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Good game, interesting take on the theme.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27am

awesome game, love the concept, nice gameplay, audio is great, well done :)

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:33am

Creepy. Cool though! I do believe this is the most innovative compo game I've seen.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:04am

OMG! I love this game! it combined the two themes nicely, had challenging difficulty and also be polished.

And the creepy horror mood, the brutal ending, it's seldom to see this sorta game here, and this is really good!

Just a random guess, is the game screen supposed to be scaled 2 or 3 times? it's a little small in my option.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Thank you, it is nice to read such a detailled review. About the title screen, I am not sure. I didnt have the chance to try it on many machine. Some weird stuff might happen especially on the web version.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:15am

Great atmosphere! ..and the music isn't toxic as mine.. ^^

jdoughty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Way wicked! Total package game! Last boss was a bit easy but thats the only thing i can say at all! Awesome game!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Awesome game ! Love the art, love the music. And the gameplay is genius. Parfait !

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Well that was amazing. Totally original, great looking, and fun. It even has a boss and an ending. Awesome!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Love the art style and gameplay!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Best entry so far, all 5. The game is a bit long and sometime injust with its checkpoints but it has wits and boy it is fun and refreshing. Best game of LD34 for me.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Particularly liked the cool voice sounds.

Miltage says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

This is pretty well made. Everything fits together nicely. That text to speech was pretty creepy though.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Awesome! simply perfect.

Jod says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:08am

Supercool! That is a a lovely way to control two characters. And the art, music and sound effects are well done.

I love the little details as well: bullets ricochet on walls, the exit button crumbling... well done!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Clever gameplay, really interesting and fun ! Well done !

Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:48pm

I'll be very surprised if this doesn't get in at least the top ten of one category. Excellent music, original concept, really funny writing (several of Frank's lines made me laugh out loud). The graphics are amazing, and the puzzles are innovative and fresh. It got quite hard, but the levels are short enough that replaying isn't much of a hassle.

If the game has any weaknesses, it's that the theme isn't that strongly connected to the gameplay (it's definitely there, but it's not central). Also, the ending is a bit weak compared to the game itself, but that's minor.

Strongly recommended to everyone who isn't squicked out by the plot.

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Smooth graphics and amazing audio, keep working on it.

Loved the idea of the two characters conected and the levels are great!

Well done!

mukult says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:02am

HOLy shit!! the artwork..audio...gameplay!! everything amazing!! nice work on this!!

dvdfu says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:17am

The execution is perfect! Everything from the gameplay to graphics to ending to sound effects works really nicely together.

simoroshka says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I can't get past the first thing on the second level. I manage to get only one character through the blasting killing thing. Am I missing something?

maksibonus says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 10:19am

Awesome game! Sound, gameplay on the highest level.

z3 says ...
Jan 8, 2016 @ 5:25pm

nice game!

Jan 9, 2016 @ 1:39am

Just wanted to drop a note here and say this game is awesome. Very well done.

Annie says ...
Jan 10, 2016 @ 5:04pm

迷叔!!!这游戏超好玩。其实也一般般啦。哈哈

youngertoti says ...
Jan 23, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Well done!Really fits the theme.Amazing made in 48 hours.It seems like a jam game.Thanks for the author.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]