Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cactus Simulator

by Jeroen Kappé - Compo Entry

My game for LD34

Cactus Simulator; cactusen hate water, that's all!
Get the highest cactus/ dodge the falling water objects!

Controls:
Click/tap the left and right boxes.


It's not completely finished but it's playable.
I hope it is enjoyable in some way:)

I would love to hear feedback (even if it's negative).
I used unity 5.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#206Humor3.00
#351Graphics3.34
#523Theme3.68
#528Audio2.54
#689Fun2.85
#713Mood2.61
#742Overall2.93
#897Innovation2.22

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Poor cactus.. all he wants to do is stay dry and here's some jerk dropping fish tanks and water bottles on him! How rude!

Cute game!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Cool game, the art fits it really well!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I'm pretty sure this isn't botanically accurate...

As for the game though, it's pretty simple, but I have to ask if you specifically avoided keyboard controls to follow up with the theme, or if that was just for mobile accessability?

Lovely simple sprites, though!

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I like it, It seems to be built especially built for mobile.

Cool game tho

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

The art is great. It would be nice to be able to use the arrow keys to move instead of clicking on the boxes.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The controls being for mobile this game was frustrating to play on a computer. also it's a bit finnicky as to when you get hit and when it's too low to hit you

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Cute game, on Windows I think the controls are a bit annoying though. I like the fish bowls and such that fall on the cactus, it's a cute detail that I really enjoyed.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

It is simple, and I like that - quite a nice concept! I only wish that there could be keyboard controls for desktop, like arrow keys!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

the graphics and theme are nice, but I found the gameplay a bit annoying. would be nice to have keyboard controls on the windows version.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Works fine on Mac ! :) Nice game !

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

*Update*
I will make arrow controls for windows ASAP
(and thanks for the tips :) )

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Very nice graphics! It shows that graphics don't have to be complex to be good.
I guess this game is easier on a mobile device, since you can hover your thumbs above the boxes.

I could have used some simple music, but overall it is very entertaining!

Goed gedaan!

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Played it on my Macbook and clicking the two boxes was annoying, wish I could just use arrow keys. Also felt like I would get to a point where it would be impossible not to get hit by water. I like the look though.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Cute graphics. The presentation is good.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Fun game, really like the 'simple' art style a lot!

Although, cacti contain water, so does this mean the cactus hates itself?

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I laughed. I died. I was a cactus.

Yazara says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

The art looks really nice and polished :)
The controls work good on android, the gameplay isn't too exciting though. Maybe you could spice it up with some other mechanics.
For example every now and then the cactus grows a flower, and during the time the flower is visible you have to collect the items instead of dodging them.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

nice little game. I lol'd at the fishbowl

Micah Goodhue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22am

Neat little game! I kinda wish you would've binded keys with the buttons.

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

cool game! i could see this doing well on the app store, also i can confirm that it works on mac :)

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Cute game! As others already said a keyboard control would be usefull. Otherwise it's a funny game with a good finish.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Simple but fun idea that fits both themes well. Like the graphics and humor. Nice entry.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Awesome! All my life I dream to be a cactus :D

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Very good idea in two buttons

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Loved the graphics style, nice work. The gameplay was really funny haha :-D

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Pretty Simple but pretty simple, enjoyed playing this game ^^.

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Thanks for the feedback all, I would love to hear tips if someone has any :)

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

The controls are a bit weird but it's a fun little game! :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29am

As I said on the stream, if this game had a bit more features it would be a cool game in its genre. A couple of more effects here and there, more animations, etc. and this would be pretty cool to play on my phone.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Solid Entry, I only missed some variation and a little bit context. Cause was the cactus flying? in what did he make his metres? Keep on going!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:42am

Nice simple but very polished game. May show the previous grown cactis in the main menus background with a scaled height?

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:28pm

This game is a lie! - Anonymous Cactus

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:06am

Simple little game, cute. I would have liked to control it with the arrow keys, but I guess this makes it more challenging! Like the chunky pixel art and soundfx.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]