Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cant Stop Moving

by Darkflint - Compo Entry

Welcome to my entry for the Theme "Two Buttons Control", named "Cant stop moving"!

Do you know games like "Guitar Hero"? Well, "Cant Stop Moving" is a simplified version of it. Select a song (or upload one yourself! Other player can use it then too) and press at the right moment the right button.

It has a chat too, really important :P Wanted to add a server-highscore list, unfortunatly i had problems to get my mongodb working :( So it´s only a local list of your games.

Doesn´t work in IE (perhaps Edge too? Can someone test please?). Safari unknown. Firefox and Chrome are working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#566Innovation3.03
#651Humor1.94
#781Theme3.29
#814Mood2.31
#884Graphics1.93
#913Fun2.25
#923Overall2.53

Comments

arvaris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I couldn't tell if it was actually registering when I was hitting the keys; there was no "positive feedback" mechanism. The 'A' and 'D' buttons didn't show up for long enough. It also froze and started crashing my Firefox after a little bit and the song was just jumping all over the place after that.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

The feedback is the score counter at the right bottom.
Which Firefox Version are you using and which system? I didnt had this problem once.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Neat. I played this on FireFox and it ran fine for me. It would have been nice to anticipate instead of react my key taps though. Can you describe a bit about how the Left and Right actions are chosen?

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Truth be told, it´s random :P I ran out of time, otherwise the game would be a bit..."more"-

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very different seems totally random is there an ending?

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Impressive that you were able to do this in 48 hours! Sadly the feedback from your input isn't very noticeable which makes it not very fun to play. Still impressive though!

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

The idea is good, but there is a lack of feedback. I cannot tell if I'm doing good or not. And I find it difficult to see the relation between the songs and the rythm.
Did you compose all these songs yourself during the jam ?
Our team also create a rythm game, so come have a look at it ! :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

@liquidmedia: well, each song has an own end. there is no campagne or something like that.

@Decentsauce: strictly speaking it was only sunday, saturday i had to prepare my environment etc. not much programming.

@RadStar again someone complain the lack of feedback :P And like i said in another comment, there is no relation beetwen songs and ryhtm, it´s random. Well, at least regarding which button is shown, the frequence and time for pressing are related to the song. Ran out of time. Also i didnt compose any song, at the top right corner you see a link to a site with copyright free songs. you can even upload your own songs and other player can play to it.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28am

I don't see any score counter on Firefox 42.0, sadly. (Not scoring game, just providing feedback)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Whoops, I found the score. It should be a little closer to the song in my opinion. Also if the A and D squares have nothing to do with the music, then they should probably be visible longer, or have some way to predict them like scrolling Rock Band blocks.

Interesting idea anyway!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Strangest game I've played so far, but I like the idea.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The setup of your game is impressive! It's great that you can upload your own songs and even chat with other people. Could be improved on the visuals and the feedback, though. Maybe the buttons could turn green if you pressed in time?

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Hey, that´s a nice idea @green button! Didnt thought of it.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Void of visual feedback for hits and misses is confusing.

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

well i didn't found that the input was in much in rythm, couldn't find interesting pattern.

The idea seems great, i didn't find myself in the music analyse algorithm

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Strange and new idea, but if you literally tap A and D you can never lose, also the reaction window is so small, I dunno, it just doesn't click with me. It's probably because of the style or the music taste. Either way, good work!

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35pm

chat was funny ;) I played while XtremePrime was there and ended up trying his strategy, except I was still in the chat window and ended up posting something like this in the chat:

ddr2:addaadaadaddaaddadaadadadadadadadadadadadadadadadadadaddadadaadadad

Anyway, fun idea, I will just +1 everyone that said lack of visual feedback, it's very important for that kind of game to know whether you've hit it right or not, and constantly monitoring the score at the bottom gets you distracted ;)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Finally someone used the chat :)

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Intresting idea but looks a bit rough

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:49am

Nice implementation skills with the file upload feature, the scores and the chat! I didn't notice the score ticking up at the bottom the first time I played so that did confuse me, but then I played again.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:39pm

If there really was some algorithm for detecting rhytm/spectrum of the music implemented, and displaying prompts accordingly it would be totally amazing. Anyway, kudos to whoever uploaded Nuclear War:D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:37pm

This confused me, I wasn't really sure what the point was.
Some kind of visual feedback (in addition to the very small score text counter) when you hit the keys would have been nice.
And since the key flashing was completely random and not generated from the music, it made it less of a game, and more 'listen to this music while you randomly try to press a and d'.
Sorry, i didn't enjoy this one.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Nice simplified take on the rhythm game genre. Are the prompts randomized or generated from the music?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]