Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

WIP55

by Pending Chaos - Compo Entry

An infinite runner with powerups/effects, coins and bad stuff. It is for the two-button-controls theme. Running the source requires Pygame (http://pygame.org/news.html) and Python 2. The controls will be explained in the main menu.
Stand-alone binaries are included.

The music was generated with Autotracker (https://github.com/wibblymat/ld24/blob/master/autotracker.py).
The sound effects were generated with Sfxr (http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html).
The Orbitron font was created by The League of Moveable Type (https://www.theleagueofmoveabletype.com/).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#450Audio2.69
#731Fun2.78
#736Overall2.94
#818Theme3.22
#891Graphics1.83
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

A decent attempt at an infinite runner. Physics were predictable, graphics were a little more interesting than just plain squares (although including more interesting backgrounds, characters and pickups may be good), audio was alright although the music could do with some improvement.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

As the submission form suggest, you'll have an hard time getting rated if you don't have an executable without dependencies... You really can't make a windows executable?

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Pleased to see python drvrlopers here. Its much much elegant than using unity to me. Addictive fast game and good music.have to test that autotracker

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I tried once. It did not work.

srimech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I got 91 :). The controls were a bit infuriating at first but I got used to them and found it quite addictive. Nice one.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

good first run a bit different for the controls not what I was thinking at first

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

i dont have Pygame and Python 2...y dont u just build an excutable :| ? (i've seen other python entries like this too.....)

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I tried on Linux and it did not work because it was Linux. I tried on Windows and could not get Python to work.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:17am

Neat little game! I like the procedural levels (they are, right?) but I did get stuck between 2 platforms at one point. I think the biggest next step it needs is jump height that's sensitive to the duration of keypress, a la Mario 1.

Also, for the sake of making an executable package, I recommend you look into py2exe - it really works quite well, though you may have to google a setup script to run it with pygame.

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:31pm

I've created some binaries for 64-bit Linux and Windows.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Nice to see a python entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]