Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Story of the First Ants

by Category5Kawaiiju - Jam Entry

Once upon a time, a man thought it would be funny to play a joke on his mom and sister. Middle middle middle, now we have ants.

---

A while back I was in a used book store and I bought a few books that I judged based on their covers because I was in AP Studio Art and my concentration was "Myths, Legends, and Folk Tales." I ended up barely using them. However, I started reading one of them at bedtime several years later, because the stories were no longer than four pages each, the font was pretty big, and there were pretty pictures on occasion.

A few things I didn't realize:
1. This book was published in 1902
2. "The Book of Nature Myths" has myths from all around the world, but most of them are Native American
3. Almost all of the Native American myths in this book are super sad. This book is actually really depressing
4. There are a few European myths in here. I do not know from what era, nor do I know from where exactly--I'm just guessing they're European because there's kings and queens and villagers. Also, the artwork would suggest it as well. But anyway, the European myths don't?? Make any?? Sense??

I picked my favorite myth from this book and made it...interactive. It is European in origin, and it's called The Story of the First Ants. It is super f*cked up in the best way. I hope you guys love it as much as I do.

Theme: Two Button Controls (the only two buttons you can use are the up and down arrows, even on menus)

Also available on my Game Jolt page: http://gamejolt.com/games/the-story-of-the-first-ants/113970

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Humor(Jam)4.53
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#227Mood(Jam)3.60
#2115Coolness24%

Comments

timburbank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32am

The visual novel format works remarkably well for a 113+ year old myth

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

That was a cool story, your artwork was really good and I especially liked the jokes you put in there. I also don't know how to draw oil.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Ohhh so THAT's where ants came from. I never knew! Great humor and a very interesting story. Personally, I wish there were more actual "game," and hitting up and down together is a bit finicky. But overall good stuff.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

531,926 is my score :D
Good comics, wish the story was unlinear :-)

Saranyaan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

This looks great and that story is both so wrong and so amazing!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Very cute. The illustration were just the best, especially when they added more context to the situations. Love the humor

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33am

I liked the drawings, and the voice over was appropriate.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44am

Not too many jam games tell a story, so it was good to see. I also like how the art had its own flavor that went beyond just the story that was being told.

Maybe a couple additional smaller games between the "chapters" of the story could have helped improve the game aspect a bit. In any case, it was a charming experience :)

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17am

Great art. Cute voice. Fun time.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32am

Love your arts :)

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:11am

Really enjoyed the story aspect (drawings were fantastic and occasionally hilarious), so much so that I forgot why I was watching it, because I had forgotten it was a game. Voice acting was very well measured and delivered. The game aspect of it was less than enjoyable, however, and while I enjoyed the tie-in to the story, it didn't keep me coming back. Again, excellent work on the majority of this! But in the future, maybe weave story and gameplay tighter together.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:36am

Loved the art, voice acting, and the choice of story, I had no idea where it was going, and that ending, lol. Should definitely make more little treats like this, a good way to get in touch with old tales in a amusing way.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:54pm

That was a cool story to know, the graphics looked really fun and so some of the dialogue. Wish it would have been longer...!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]