Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Augmentum

by SoulBound - Jam Entry

Welcome to Augmentum! You play Subject 62, the victim of alien experimentation at an abandoned scientific facility in space. When the humans perished about a year ago after a particularly unsuccessful study, you finally found that you had the freedom to live peacefully.
That is, however, until some other experiments discovered that this was the opportunity to grow and expand.
Your objective is to flee the approaching ever-growing vines of a vegetative species called Subject 54, while navigating the halls of the dark scientific laboratory. Watch out for zero-gravity items that clog the halls such as boxes, test tubes, and garbage! Subject 54 is continually growing and gaining speed, and it becomes progressively more difficult to remain alive.
Use the up and right arrow keys to move Subject 62.
We apologize for any short-comings in this game, as we are only a group of high-school students hanging out in the basement.

Our tools:

Programming (Java): Eclipse
Art: Sketchbook (iPad), FireAlpaca
Music: ZOOM R8, and assorted instruments

Controls:

Up: Jump
Right: Move right

Edit:
You may have to resize the game window in order for the game to work.

Another Edit:
Made it work on computers with different screen sizes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#175Audio(Jam)3.63
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#720Theme(Jam)3.44
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#896Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22am

I had a bit of trouble fiddling to get the Window size right, game play is pretty simple, but nice tunes and nice graphics - nice mood! Well done!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Why does the "professor" keep so many pictures of himself on the wall? He sounds like a narcissist.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Great music and graphics! Is there a ending to this game?

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58am

Simply holding right and pushing up repeatedly seems to be sufficient to not die. Also, the repeating background is weird. The art on the background, the character, and the evil thing chasing are all fantastic.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07am

Interesting!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

Pretty cool! The controls didn't feel that tight but the music was awesome.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11pm

My artsy ego is satisfied!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32pm

I like the idea and the art but the implementation is buggy and the movement is quite jerky. Also, the game is quite easy once you realize you do not get any penalty from staying on the right side all along.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18am

The art is pretty good, but the game is a bit buggy. That said, definitely not bad for a group who, I assume, are still learning about this sort of thing! Nice work!

shatty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20am

Nice art and music!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:47am

crashes with
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: us/soulbound/ludumdare/game/LD34 : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

"java -version" prints:
java version "1.7.0_67"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_67-b01)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 24.65-b04, mixed mode, sharing)

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:23am

Firstly, I'd just like to say that it's awesome that you guys/gals are entering into Ludum Dare while still in high school. :)
As for the game, I had to resize the window to get it to work properly, but once I did, I encountered few if any bugs.
The art was very impressive. Although they definitely could have done with more animation, the character designs of both Subject 62 and 54 were very well realised.
Finally, the music was very nice and fit well with the theme of the game.

Keep making games guys. ^^v

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

The artwork and sound in this game are really cool. However, the gameplay just felt a little lacking - it's a little repetitive and the collisions are a little buggy.

However, I really do like the music. :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Seemed like a cool entry, but I couldn't play it as the window started maximised and didn't seem to scale any of the graphics - causing me to instantly fall out of the level at the start of the game. :(
See image here: http://i.imgur.com/8gN1QId.jpg

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:49am

Nice music and backgrounds! Perhaps a little easy, but nice job.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Pretty cool game.
The jump animation looks a bit weird, but that is only a minor thing.
You can get a score of over 200 by just keeping right pressed and repeatedly pressing up. You don't even have to look at the screen.
But it is still very impressive what you created. Well done.

davidB says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:53pm

same issue, need to resize the windows to match the game area, and to not show hidden part (with a dual monitor).

not very fun (too repetitive), good try continue to make game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]