Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Soulless Dungeon

by ursagames - Jam Entry

Use your two mouse buttons to fight! Grow your strength to defeat the Soul Destroyer!

Left click is to move and attack, right click to block!
The combat is stamina based, so if your action isn't working, make sure you have stamina!

Procedurally generated dungeons!

The WebGL build seems a bit laggy for me, so I can't promise performance there. The exe runs a lot smoother.

Music by Maripka
https://soundcloud.com/poloman89/soulless-man

Everything else by Ursagames (Andy Brown)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#560Graphics(Jam)3.36
#672Humor(Jam)2.35
#726Theme(Jam)3.43
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#808Innovation(Jam)2.68

Comments

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Play the Windows version if you can, the Web version seems to have a lot of issues. Trying to fix the build now.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Nicely done!

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

The web version worked OK for me. Good game

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Nice little dungeon crawler!

Had no problems with the Web Version.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Thanks all! I had to recompile to WebGL 5 times to get a build that actually included all of the assets. The first couple times didn't include the music, and then it didn't include some of the art assets. It should be working- but it does feel laggier to me than native builds.

Emi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

This is awesome :V I love the sprites

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I really enjoyed this game! Nice dungeon crawler, good use of two button mechanic, and love the music!

modenv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice core game play loop. Surprisingly fun to walk and open boxes. I like the stamina meeter, but feels a little to deadly to kill the enemies. got killed by the boss later.

Also, nice music.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Wow, I never realized how much depth there can be in just letting a player actively block attacks! This one was alot of fun for me. Helps that I have a love for procedural generated games. Add up good sound, good sprites, and solid game play and this is one of my favorites this year!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55am

@Emi Thanks! They pale in comparison to your art though!

@MikeTsunami Thanks a lot! I'm pretty happy with how it turned out even if I had to cut a lot of planned features.

@modenv Ah sorry, the gameplay was meant to be punishing, but it might have ended up a bit too punishing due to the lack of time to balance! Thanks though!

@jdoughty Thanks, that means a lot to us! The combat mechanics were heavily inspired by the Dark Souls series.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Very fun! Loved the sprite work and music. Great job

bradur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:47pm

It was quite a fun game, although I thought it was a little tedious to open the boxes since it was so slow. The slowness was OK for the combat since it was tactical but the boxes could have been opened instantly in my opinion. Great graphics, sound and musics. Well done!

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Combat was very rough for me and the pathfinding for my character was a little wonky But the art looked awesome and the boss character was especially great.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00pm

@Crazi456 Thanks! I feel like I learned a lot on sprite animations during this!

@bradur I kind of agree, although I like smashing them open, but I dislike that it uses stamina- I didn't have an easy fix so I just made them give back some stamina when broken, which I should have just made them give back a full attack's worth of stamina.

@denycetm Ah, I had intentionally not created pathfinding for the player. Pathfinding would mess up dodging enemy attacks and could lead to many annoying cases, I felt it was better to just let the character hold down the move button to move in that direction. I did want to add pathfinding to monsters, but ran out of time, which was a shame since I already implemented my own A* algrorithm for the level creation. The combat design is a bit hardcore and meant to be challenging though, so it's understandable that it won't be enjoyable for a lot of people.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Solid entry! Font was a little hard to read.
But good effort for a small team!

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:05am

Very solid game. It might be worth developing a full version in the future, but for a LD game, I think it will score very well. Good job!

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:21am

I took the easy way out with procedural level generation. Your algorithm seems a lot more complex. Do you mind adding the source code? I'd love to learn from what you did! :D

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:41pm

@HotBoxGames thanks a lot! I agree the title screen font ended up being more illegible than intended, whoops!

@JustAShadow Thanks a lot! I'm planning on continuing development on the game- I've already got a lot planned now. Sorry, but I don't plan on releasing the source- it's a mess to figure out what I did anyways from that.. What I did was I created a two dimensional array to represent the tiles. I first filled in randomly sized rectangular "rooms" keeping track of each room and only filling them when they did not touch other rooms with a 2 tile padding (to ensure room for walkways). I then created doorways in 1-4 sides of each room, keeping track of where they started. Then for each doorway, I randomly selected another doorway that was not associated with the same room and implemented A* shortest path to find and trace a 3x3 width path connecting doorways together. From there, I just filled in walls around the edges of the paths that were created.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:26am

adding this to my play again list - nice crawler - little hard figuring out how to attack enemies - nice game

Gyfis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:09am

Web version works well for me. It's nice little game, I like it. I think music is quite cool and the controls are great.

ursagames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:45am

@sP0CkEr2 Thanks! I wish I had the time to put in an in-game tutorial.. I know a few people who didn't figure out how to block when trying it =)

@Gyfis Thanks! The initial web issues seemed to be with the first attempts of exporting the game, after a few tries most of the issues seemed to be fixed.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:55pm

The web version worked fine for me but when I got to level 3 the entrance section was sealed off from the rest of the level, trapping me.

Cute little platformer with nice sfx and music. Consistent style. Nice!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:01am

A pretty solid dungeon game. I couldn't figure out what the right-click button do though.

ursagames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:00pm

@zenmumbler wow, you must have been extremely unlucky! There is a very small chance of rooms connecting to each other and not the rest of the map, but I've yet to see it happen in all of my testing.

@jacklehamster Thanks! Right click is for blocking, you hold it down to block an enemy's attack. The dervish enemies and boss are pretty much impossible to beat without it =)

Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Pretty nice retro graphics (brought back good memories of playing "Gauntlet" as a kid), and the music is excellent. I can tell a lot of work and polish went into this, from the procedurally generated levels to the scorecard at the end of each level. Combat is simple, but works.

The connection to the themes didn't feel strong.

My main problem is that it was too hard: I lost a lot of health killing one slime, and there doesn't seem to be any way to regain health other than levelling up. Could just be that I was bad at fighting.

ursagames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:09am

@ChristinaNordlander Thanks, we tried our best! I often have issues with balancing difficulty during Ludum Dare entries when I'm the only person testing the game. I also intended to have health potions in the boxes as well, but ran out of time. My goal was to make something challenging, but it ended up being more on the punishing side.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Good-looking dungeon crawler! Pity neither player nor enemy do any wayfinding. Is there a way to heal? As it is, it's just too deadly to attack enemies. Avoiding is much easier. Didn't manage to kill the boss.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]