Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

OSHIYA! PUSH!

by inbetweengames - Jam Entry

Take on the role of Isamu Takao, Oshiya Extraordinaire, in fast-paced arcade game OSHIYA! PUSH!

Push the growing crowds of Tokyo rush-hour commuters into packed train cars before the train leaves the station. Using a two button control scheme, keep the rhythm and save the day! Ganbatte!

The game was made for the Ludum Dare 34 Jam over a period of 3 days by a team of 5.

HOW TO PLAY
Tap SPACE on the beat to 'gather' passengers together. If you miss the beat, passengers won't gather.
Hold SPACE to push passengers into the door. Do this once they are gathered together.
Once you push all the way to a door, it will close.
Hold ENTER to move to the next door.

So in a nutshell, alternate between gather and push until the door is done. But keep the rhythm!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#66Humor(Jam)3.84
#122Innovation(Jam)3.75
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#320Mood(Jam)3.46
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#668Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

Yatta! This is great fun. Love the art and the music. The whole concept is pretty unique and well executed. Would've been nice to make the tutorial text a little bigger as I didn't notice it at first, but that's no problem once you know the mechanics.

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

Love it. Nicely done. Followed the progress on twitter and put it on my list right away! Well worth it. Good job guys!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50am

Funny ,i liked idea ,we need web version:)

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Really great mood and aesthetics, I've seen the progress on Twitter. Clever idea to fit the theme as well.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Love the graphics style

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very funny game, very creative concept!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Can't play windows games. Looks cool tho.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Haha! That was a great concept. Moving between doors was probably my least favorite part, I think gameplay would probably be smoother if you didn't have to spend time trying to line yourself up behind passengers. I love the hand drawn look of the graphics and that song is my jam. I experienced a funny bug in which Takao closed himself behind a door and couldn't get back out. Overall presentation was very coherent, great work!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Great game. Love the idea :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

funny concept. i didn't really get the controls though but that's part of the charm.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Nice game! It is original and fun. We got trapped a pair of times inside the train but we enjoy playing it. Good graphic style.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Oh noes! Is that getting trapped inside the train bug still in? We thought we fixed it. :( That gets on the post-jam list! :)

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Sweet twist on a rythm game, the theme of it definetly made me chuckle.

I liked the audio and music, even though I would enjoy more music tracks! But.. it's understandable as you've made it in such a short time.

The graphics was really charming and fitted the game perfectly!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This is amazing. I remember seeing early images of prototypes on Twitter and thinking "Where the heck is this going?" Fun rhythm game!

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Great Game , funny as hell good work!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30am

A little confusing at first, but once you get it it's a blast. Funny, good audio and graphics. Great work again you guys! Can't wait to see what you make next LD. :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:30am

Love the graphics, very catchy music, funny premise. Kickin' back and enjoying Mt. Fuji's sunset.

Once I grasped the controls, pretty fun. http://i.imgur.com/z2jECnG.png my end score. i'm gonna go for S rank!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Hey everybody, thanks for the comments! It's very helpful for us to know what works and what doesn't! Please keep them coming. :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I liked the aesthetic and the unconventional setting. Good use of the theme too. It was a bit unclear as to how much passengers I got in with each push and how well I was doing at times though, so a bit more feedback with that would have been great.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice graphic style. The gameplay itself however is way too simple in my opinion. No changes in rhythm/speed and the music also never changes. I like the funny yatta etc. feedback though.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:45pm

They won't be late for work on my watch. Not now. Not Ever.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Really silly! This was a lot of fun and really cool! Nice job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:09am

Thanks for the feedback! It's much appreciated! :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:56am

Following your work since the Mammoth game and great game as expected! You guys really put your love in your work.

At first I was a bit lost but then I get how to control the train crowd (or at least I thing I get it)

The game was really polished and beutiful in it's way!
Great work guys!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great job. Love the look and sound of this.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:20am

Haha what a great theme, and a very unique concept. Great job on the production side, it looks and sounds crazy and it's very amusing.

I found the gameplay a little loose and muddy... i.e. I couldn't really tell if I was playing correctly or not and I seemed to miss the rhythm stuff completely for the first 2 levels :P

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:23am

You guys just deliver. Funny concept. I'm not sure I grasped controls because it was too hard for me around level 3(ohh the noobiness).
Great, catchy music!

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Cool game, seemed a bit confusing as to what the controls are

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Gets pretty hard during the later levels (Also ran into a strange bug where I progressed to the next level even though I failed the one I was currently playing) but this was incredibly fun to play and I love how well polished this entry is.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:44pm

eh, did not go well with the two button controls in my opinion..
still has a lot of promise though! Would love to play it expanded.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:03am

I loved the color scheme and the stylized characters. The sprites for all the business men and women reminded me of a Terry Gilliam animation. The music and voice overs were great and give it a goofy Japanese game show vibe. It was delightfully silly. Great job!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:29am

I liked the style but I'm not sure if I get it how to play it...

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really nice aesthetic + humours but (if I understood it) not much to gameplay. The things you did (especially the rhythm-based parts) could have used more visual feedback.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Really funny, it doesn't seem that you guys are from Berlin with all that japanese style. Great game and pretty simple. Keep up the gut work!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Funny game and good use of the theme

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Funny crazy little game! Love the Japanese humor and the visual style!!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Hey all,
thanks again for all the feedback, we take it to heart!
While we would love to do a proper post jam version to dramatically improve the game that would seem unsportsmanlike - so for now we just added a big text to PUSH when you should. ;)

May be we'll do that post jam version at some point. So keep the feedback coming so we know what we should include there!

Thanks again all,
inbetweengames

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:06am

this is one of the best games for the jam - nice job

blurryroots says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Great catchy music and I really enjoyed the clever rhythm based gameplay. Interesting topic as well. Very cool entry ;)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Great game! Really fun to play. The best I have played in the jam so far. I guess this will be a winner in at least one category :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Great work as always guys

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:44am

Looks really awesome from the images. I hope you guys can add in a web or Mac version in the future! :)

anotak says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

Interesting game, seems a bit weird to control though. Like the aesthetic.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Our mammoths friends! I like the concept and you've done a good work with the mood. Although I miss the funny sounds :D. Good job guys!

scorched says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Often have to do something like this!
Don't get the controls though, it keeps saying that I did it while I don't understand what was wrong or right in my actions...

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Original and fun :) But I think the game need more feedback when you press space on tempo. The gathering passengers is not very thing is not something you notice on first tries.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:42am

Very original and fun idea!! The graphics and audio are really cool too! The controls feel pretty confusing at first but then you get it. The game overall has a very untameable feel to it, which seems to work pretty well ;)

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:14am

I visited Tokyo last year. This is a nice arcade simulation of the train stations. It just needs the jingles that play when the trains are about to leave.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:45am

Thanks all! Jingles would be great! :)

In other news we uploaded a Mac version as well!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Trying to download from gamejolt (win) yields an "Internal Server Error".

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Sugoi na!! This is awesome. Love to see more rhythm games here, and the music (and audio in general) is absolutely great. My only complaint is the balance, it seemed basically impossible to get everyone in there, and the controls took some time to get a hang of. Still, it was pretty fun - great work! Omedetou!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

The gameplay is a little weird, the rhythm controls were a little lost on me, but the concept is brilliant. Nice work!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:55pm

I thoroughly failed to hit the beat, but I can still see that this is a fun and stylish game.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:03am

Loved the graphics and audio - very well crafted. The game was nicely polished, and while I didn't understand the controls at first, it quickly came to me and the game was very fun. The only problem I had was with the UI in that I thought the top-right indicator for levels completed actually referred to doors, as I had not noticed the score counter in the top-left.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]