Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Get Sun

by irwatts - Compo Entry

Fill up your petal sacks with raw crystalline sunlight droplets and grow as long as possible!

I noodled with art too much to make a start screen again so the game just starts. Prepare yourself!

Mouse/Keyboard Controls:
A/D/Mouse X: Yaw Camera
W/S/Mouse Y: Pitch Camera
Q/E/Left/Right: Roll Camera
R: Restart
Space: Pause
Esc: Quit

Gamepad Controls:
Left Thumbstick: Yaw and Pitch Camera
Right Thumbstick: Roll and Pitch Camera
Left/Right Triggers: Roll Camera
Select: Restart
Start: Pause

Software used:
Unreal Engine 4
Silo
Blender
Substance Designer
Photoshop
REAPER
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Graphics4.64
#34Mood4.05
#122Audio3.57
#133Theme4.13
#183Overall3.65
#390Innovation3.30
#434Fun3.22
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

Impressive game! Graphics were superb, and the game play was neat.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Wow this looks really pretty. Any chance for a mac or web build?

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Looks really great, could be really addictive!

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Very pretty!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Amazing graphics, what else could I expect from unreal

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

Really cool graphics, seemed really hard to get myself going at first, but once I had some momentum, it was a breeze. The music and camera got a little annoying after a while but really nice graphics and the concept is cool. Good job!

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03am

Nice mood

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

The graphics looked amazing, but for me playing the game was like staring at a photo and trying to get the stuff shown on the photo to move. The things ran at 1 FPS most of the time, peaking at 3 FPS or so. That's probably just my computer. Either way, I can't really judge. Still, I'll give you a 5 for graphics!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

My computer is not that good so this game was lagging

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Ohh man!! This look so sweet... is there any possibility of a mac build by any chance ?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Sick graphics, reminiscent me of flower. Lots of nice touches like the fov effect on restart. Gameplay feels good. Needs a difficulty ramp, I got to 100,000 with no end in sight. I had some difficulty at first gauging my speed versus the sun drops, I think the problem may be that the camera is angled slightly down, try aiming the camera along the same vector as movement. Also, I think you should simplify the camera by removing the roll component so the planet is always down. Nice ambient music. Great work!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Graphically it's great.
The idea is nice, although I had a hard time to really aim for those floating things and most of the times I stopped at 3-5 seconds. There are arrow controls that are bad, then I realized it plays with the mouse a little bit better.

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26am

Nice looks & style. Needs a sensitivity for the mouse + keyboard controls (I forgot to do this as well).

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

A very beautiful game, it's quite relaxing. Good job!

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33pm

What a beautiful game! nice music as well :-) great job!

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Really laggy on my machine so I couldn't play much but rated highly for graphics.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Really impressive graphics!
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]