Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

aSCALErate

by Strike - Jam Entry

aSCALErate is a fun multiplayer racing game where your car shrinks and grows to crush your opponents. From 1 to 4 players (local split screen). Joysticks and keyboard supported.

* Controls *
Player 1 : arrow keys left/right
Player 2 : A / S , and for our friends with AZERTY keyboards, Q / S also works ;)
Player 3 : U / I
Player 4 : NumPad 2 / 3

For stand alone versions, all these controls can be changed in the Input tab of the Configuration window at game start.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#426Humor(Jam)2.79
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#577Mood(Jam)3.14
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39am

It's quite fun but i feel like the randomness of the power ups (especially the shrink/grow once) can be somewhat frustrating at times, it feels like it doesn't matter how well i drive, RNG decides who wins.

But maybe it works better in multiplayer (could only test singleplayer)!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39am

It was pretty fun to play with a friend of mine. I crashed him like an ant *evil laugh*

timtipgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47am

I enjoyed playing this game a lot. It also looks and feels great. Will try this later with a friend to see how local coops works.
There is one thing that I really didn't like:
In my personal opinion the Powerups shouldn't have a chance to slow you down - at least not as long as they are chosen randomly and not avoidable. I think it takes away from the flow of the game.
I think it also highlights a problem that arises from the two buttons theme in this particular game: It makes a game that could be much more a game of skill (if for example you could accelerate and break yourself) a game that is largely based on chance. I am afraid the theme isn't very beneficial for this game.

I nevertheless liked it but think it could have been a lot better with only minor adjustments. Just my opinion though :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51am

Nice one!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54am

Great game! the controls were tight and responsive.

It does have that Mario Kart problem where you can go from 1st to last from 1 bad dice roll though :P

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Nice game. It would only be much better if you could see what you get or if you could choose to use it

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

Great job on the game, really fun. Very nice visuals, AI behaves really well. I didn't know what effect each new pickup will have, they are probably random. At first I thought it's Mario Kart-like, where #1 doesn't get anything good, but I still got boost being #1...

Maniac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice game, but I think the grow / shrink powerups also changing speed makes them to powerful / harmful. Was first by a large margin, then got four shrinks and came in third. Also great to have local multiplayer! :-)

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Five stars overall, excellent game!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08am

The RNG is strong with this one :P Fun little game, could only test single-player unfortunately.

Not sure how much I like the shrink mechanic, grow is cool but when you pick up 3 shrinks in a row it just feels so terribly unfair :(

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This is a very complete game! It looks nice and controls pretty decent.
Maybe you should track how many times a player had a certain powerup, so you can divide it evenly. For example: if you have had 8x Shrink 4x Boost and 2x Grow, your chance to get Grow is the biggest and the chance to get Shrink is the lowest.

Very well done!

p.s. Next time please make a WebGL build, so everybody can play it in their default browser ;)

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24am

This game was really fun! I like the variety of tracks you have, as well as the different power-ups, but I do wish there were some way of telling them apart. It would be fun to play with multiple people, too. Cool game!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02pm

I think this could be really fun. As it is, it feels a little bit too random. It would be nice, if you had more influence on the growing and shrinking part and if there were more than three different sizes. But in general a nice game.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Seems like fun but random grow/shrink breaks it as SeriousCreeper said.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:23am

Very impressive.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Really cool! it could use some more powerups, or negitive effects, but i still enjoyed it.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nice little game, sound and graphics are good. Bonus seems a bit to random and unfair sometimes, but overall well polished game!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Can only test by myself for now and I think this will fare a lot better with human opponents. Nicely done.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:50pm

A strange game. A game where you don't want to collect power-ups...but if you're in first place, you can't avoid them. Perhaps exposing the actual power-ups may have been better.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:46am

I enjoyed this, and it looks like something that could be polished further and be even more fun, like something from the old Xbox Live Arcade. My one complaint would be not having a lap counter on the screen anywhere.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Fun! Cool graphics and music but I assume the music isn't yours and that's why you took out the audio category. Overall fun game, especially with other people! c:

Strike says ...
Jan 12, 2016 @ 6:23am

Thanks for enjoying the music. It is mine but I made it long time ago for another project and it is against the rules to be in the audio category in this case ;)

Thank you everybody for playing and rating my game. Thanks a lot for all your comments. See you at the next Ludum Dare !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]