Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Escape of the alien invader

by JustASHadow - Compo Entry

Explore the procedurally generated levels annd choose upgrades after each level to defeat your foes.

This is a two button game, left click moves you character forward, and right click activates your ability(if you unlocked one).

I hope you guys enjoy my first attempt at procedural generation. Didn't really have time for real sound effects or music, or for improving the graphics. Also, the player's character is scary...really scary :O...i should go to bed...i hope he doesn't give me nightmares...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#459Humor2.41
#673Overall3.00
#739Fun2.76
#749Mood2.53
#781Theme3.29
#788Innovation2.57
#851Graphics2.19
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Level generation is a little spotty - Holes in the walls weren't uncommon (You can see missing spots in both of the sample screenshots). Quite a slew of abilities to choose from, though the majority seem fairly ineffective. Usually I ended up just kamikaze-ing mobs near the end of the level since it had a better chance of taking things out.

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Thank you for pointing that out! The bug that was creating holes in the level should now be fixed.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:19am

I bet this is how Nuclear Throne started out :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Heads up, I couldn't click on any of the options on the menu :( I think it's because the game went fullscreen straight away - try allowing a windowed mode?

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Nice game !
I just think you went way too ambitious, and didn't have time. That's why i know that there's problems you couldn't have fixed.
I just think that since your game is a game that you must play for long (at least for discovering all of the contents) the music is a big lack.
And i would add sometimes your power ups doesn't seem very useful (like damage up, when you OS an enemy)
But anyway, well done ! :)

Dohxis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12pm

The Linux version doesn't run for some reason. If I run it from terminal I get this error:
./Escape of the alien invader.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libXcursor.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Maybe you could look into that?

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12pm

@HotBoxGames Works on my end. I'll change it if more people complain i guess :/
@fafastudio Yeah, especially with the graphics, I literally did all of them in like 4 hours. Also, I'll try to get some music for the next LD.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Game with a great concept, I guess with a little bit more time, it will be a great one. At this state, he looks more like a prototype, but that's not important, he's quite fun anyway ^^

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:14pm

@Dohxis IDK man, I just hit the build button, rest is up to Unity :/

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:14pm

minimalism is art

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13am

I salute your bravery on attempting procedural generation for your levels. I did the same thing.. it was rough! The random powerups seem to really make or break your run. Some of the weapon powerups feel weaker than the starting weapon for example. Still, fun and nice job getting a lot of content in!

dkilford says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:22am

Working with procedural generation is always an interesting challenge. It's definitely something that you should keep working on, and it definitely changes the way you think about game design. It was a good first attempt, much better than my first go at procedural generation :)

While playing a found a few bugs. On my first playthrough I got a layout that had a blocked room path, so I had to restart. On my second playthrough I got the power wave powerup which didn't seem to do any damage to the cone enemies from floor 3 onwards, and had to stop.

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:25am

@dkilford Yeah, I'll experiment more in the future. Also, the 'cone enemies' block all incoming damage if you are too close, unless you have a knife. All other weapons have the range to take care of them.

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I really liked it. It worked like a charm on Ubuntu 14.04. The only small thing that I think would improve it would be turning anti-alias off.. The blurred out textures don't look that nice.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

A top-down shooter using only mouse is quite a challenging idea, even more with procedurally generated levels. I think the execution was pretty good for a compo entry.

Good job!

n8m8 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Thanks for your game!
I played your game along with several others from this jam and 'reviewed' them here: https://n8r8.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/n8-r8s-8-ludum-dare-34-part-1/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]