Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pandora

by pokipsy - Jam Entry

Pandora is a tower defense game in which you face infinite waves of fierce ennemies.

All you need to play is just a mouse with two buttons ^^

We're honestly quite satisfied with the result compared to our first entry on last Ludum Dare.

Hope you enjoy !

Don't hesitate to put your best score in comments
(dev record : 25800 on wave 9 ^^)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#555Graphics(Jam)3.38
#598Innovation(Jam)3.02
#712Theme(Jam)3.45

Comments

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Really liked the idea and the complexity of playing a Tower Defense with just two buttons. If you improve the graphics (I understand that with this little time it's hard to make something really eyecatching), this could be really good. Congrats!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I liked the lighting and it was challenging enough to make me keep playing. The electric fence was a really nice surprise. I got to a score 14900! :D If you clear out the bugs and add some more features it could be awesome.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

nice idea !

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Had me playing for a while. Not a bad little game.

My only crticism is that the electric fences dont seem to do much.because i dont have any control over what they kill.. the one shot kill is often wasted.

Not bad if thats all I have to complain about.

Needs a better (more relevant) title though, I was nearly going to skip this one.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Fun and atmospheric, even if I knew nothing of the backstory. Felt like an abandoned laboratory or something so that was cool. Also a nice take on tower defence! I'd maybe wanna see a bit more oomph in the guns, the sounds were good but some other effects would make them feel even more powerful. Also the monsters were a tad too loud. A solid effort still!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Pretty solid. would have expected some more options to use the money on.

pkenney says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47am

This was a fun game and a I played a bunch, but I eventually decided I had a beef with the control scheme.

Can I share my thoughts on the problem/solution?

In my opinion, too much of my thought process while playing was around micromanaging the input steps to change guns: see enemy, then right click, text pops up, move exactly to target gun, then left click. That's two clicks, a precise mouse point, and some text. I even started early right clicking and just watching for enemies with the text still showing.

I think you could smooth out the controls with a couple of small changes, and if you did you could then justify throwing even harder challenges at the player.

Here are the hypothetical changes I was thinking of:

1. Enlarge the selection radius on the gun enormously. Like you can click anywhere on the screen and it will select the nearest gun.

2. Make right click immediately select. No two clicks, no text.

In other words, at any time I can right click anywhere and my selection will immediately move to the nearest gun.

So now I can flip between guns extremely rapidly. When I see a new monster, I navigate the mouse there, right click as I approach to change guns, and left click as the mouse arrives to start shooting. So the mouse moves in a straight line to the target, there is only one click to change, and then I can fire.

Once the player can juggle guns much more quickly, you can start sending more multi-pronged attacks. You could even try to change the enemies so the player wants/needs to switch even during a firefight. Currently once I had aim on a target I always shot it to death. But can you introduce a design element where it becomes worth it to sometimes switch away from a big fight to put two bullets into a monster coming at another gun, then cut back to the main battle? That would be a cool feeling I think.

There's definitely some physical and mental challenge aspect to your current controls that is lacking in what I propose, but I'm a strong believer in making the controls as smoothly powerful as possible and then balancing in-game challenges around that.

Anyway that's a long ramble but hope you found it interesting.

Nice entry, looks and sounds great, and obviously the design got me thinking. ;)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

Fun game. With some more variety and levels this can become a good game to play. Awesome work for such a short time

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34am

Hm, can't say I've had fun defending turrets for turrets sake. For some reason I couldn't put a fence on the left entry at the top (instead a fence got placed right inside the centre room). At some point enemies got stuck outside of the level, which made me unable to progress at 9850 points.

The controls would've been a lot better if you could directly right click a turret to select it instead of the tedious right-left click (still show the overlay if you right click anywhere else, but accept any button for selection).

AboLD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Really nice Idea and well wave design
Thumps up guys

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Nice concept and with a solid execution. Neat gameplay as well

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice game!
Graphics look nice and the audio is great!
It gets a bit repetitive after some time, but that may be because of the fact, that the goal is to get a high score ;)
All in all nice work!

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I loved this game so much! Every aspect of it was executed very well, and I loved that slow-time effect when you change turets. Great job!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46pm

game was fun at first, but it slowly get's boring, difficulty should get up faster

Interface says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Great game. I think you could do something with this post-compo for sure!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:37am

19800 on wave 8 on touchpad.
Fences are really nice Squid guard ;)
Wish I could have possibility to upgrade turrets.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:44am

Great job, you made a really fun game! I would live to play a version of this that allows me to switch keys with the 1, 2, and 3 numeric keys and offers more purchasable defenses. It reminded me of the fun I had with the Orcs Must Die series. Nice job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Nice TD. It could be very good with more time - and features. A great entry. Well done ++

nosfer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Nice one! What I would change - second right click should cancel change of turret, also I couldn't repair turret - there was circle around turrent for a half a second, then it dissapeared, clicking on turret don't do anything. But Overall: very good :)

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:27pm

The gameplay is very fun, it's surprising how simple can a good tower defence game be. I enjoyed graphics and music, too. And nice use of the theme, though one can argue if mouse + 2 mouse buttons counts as 2 buttons.

But, glitched monsters. Monsters on top of walls. Monsters on top of turrets. 10 glitched monsters out of 10.

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Interesting concept and mechanics, maybe make it more two touch?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]