Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Time Block

by Dalkor - Jam Entry

___________________ Premise ___________________
Oh no! Block Man is growing older. But lucky for you, there is a syringe of Life Elixir! Get to the Elixir of Life before Block Man grows too old and... and... DIES!

___________________ Controls ___________________
Left Mouse - Slow Time/Glide Longer
Right Mouse - Glide(Follows Mouse Cursor)

___________________ Credits ___________________
Programming/Level Design: Jon Monks
Art/Design: Geoff Tenney
Music: Not Us(Scirra)
SFX: bfxr.net
Made in Construct 2


___________________ Fixes ___________________
12/16 - Realized that default controls were not disabled so people could use arrow keys. Disabled default controls to force the use of mouse as intended.
12/17 - Fixed Graphics bug where the animation for dying would happen behind an object or off screen.

___________________ Bugs ___________________
- Sometimes, Game Freeze at end of first level after getting the Elixer of Youth.
- Sometimes, In a dual screen setup, I noticed in Firefox, that the game is much more difficult when playing on one of the screens than the other. I was not able to replicate this issue in Chrome or IE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#414Audio(Jam)3.20
#424Innovation(Jam)3.27
#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#692Fun(Jam)2.94
#710Graphics(Jam)3.06
#788Overall(Jam)3.00

Comments

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Nice art and interesting concept, took me a while to get a hang of the controls but once i did it was fun :)

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32am

I quite liked it! Interesting take on the theme. The controls need a bit of tuning but are quite enjoyable.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

Very nice controls. I really liked the inertia and double-jump, feels fun.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57am

Nice! The controls are pretty loose, but it was fun to play

cirpig29 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Interesting concept. I'm afraid I'm too bad at this kind of games to play all of it, but it's a solid game nonetheless.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Interesting concept, i like the game, nice art!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I enjoyed it. True to the theme. Really unforgiving towards my skill level.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

Interesting!

Enchae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really interesting. Great use of the two button controls, it had a nice, foreboding atmosphere, and the music was on point!

I do think it could benefit from some more uniform graphics/visual data/particles to make somethings more defined and look prettier.

But other than that, pretty solid entry. Good job!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Another tough game (why don't people ever ramp up difficulty slowly in LD games? lol), with really unique controls.

emanvidmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:28pm

has potential but the difficulty spike goes from 0 to pro in the second level needed play testing and bearly explain

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Really loved the art progression of the character over time. The controls where a bit hard to understand at first but it got better over time. I think the hit boxes on the hazards where a bit big. Overall nice work.

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:00am

Interesting. Different controls. I enjoyed. Good job.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Nice.

superjoebob says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:04pm

best game in ludum

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]