Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slaying Runner from Ninjanation

by komilll - Compo Entry

It's a simple runner with two buttons control:
Arrow Up (↑) - to jump. There is double jump possible.
Arrow Down (↓):
while in air - You are forced to go on ground.
on the ground - You are dashing and killing enemy on your path.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#615Humor2.05
#667Audio1.90
#818Theme3.22
#851Mood2.00
#904Fun2.30
#905Graphics1.59
#935Innovation1.82
#954Overall2.27
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice, fun little game. I just wish I had more lives so I wouldn't die after one hit.

illraceyou says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46am

Addicting, but very difficult. The hit detection on the green guys seems a little unfair sometimes: you get hurt by them even when it looks like you clearly bounce on them from above. Also might be nice if you bounced a bit higher off of them, since it sometimes makes you hit a bullet afterwards.

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:12pm

daaaaaaaaamn thats hard! it was simple but worked well

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Couldn't get past the first jump, should be a little easier when you start out.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29pm

nice mechanic on double jump power. bug or feature? :)

komilll says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:34pm

At first I wanted to make it a normal double jump mechanic but it turned out this way. I've adjusted gravity and thought double jump in this way could be good.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:42pm

*dodges the green...thingie* *dies to lazer*
goddang, didnt make it to the end. (kept trying for a while).
Liked the game mechanics behind the double jump (double tap very fast and youll get lot of air time!)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Quite difficult, but funny to play. I found that dashing and quickly jumping was my best tactic - fly over them all! you can get some major speed! Maybe tone down on the difficulty a bit for LD.

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Easy to master, but it get's really annoying after the first ten times you die.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:34am

I actually had a lot of fun with this one! But I'll admit, once I got farther than I had before and lost I lost all hope :(

If I could make two suggestions:
1) Add some checkpoints so that when the player dies they don't restart at the beginning
2) I don't feel like I should die from touching a laser shooter, just the laser that comes out of it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]