Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Survive the Moco

by Geck0 - Jam Entry

My first game ever!

This is an uncompleted hard survivor game where you have to RUN ,DODGE and KILL Mocos.

I chose both THEMES:
- GROWING: Mocos can grow and they divide themselves into two new Mocos of the next size.
- TWO BUTTONS CONTROLS: You only have two buttons to play, Mouse1 and Mouse2.


===== INSTRUCTIONS =============================

Just survive the MOCO attack!!! This is just a challenge to survive the long time possible, there is not a happy end :P

1.- MOUSE 1 to move
2.- MOUSE 2 to fight

3.- Enjoy it and SURVIVE!!

-----> PRESS ALT+ENTER to FULLSCREEN !! <-----



######## DEPENDENCES ##############################
Maybe you need to install some dependences to run the game, as this is not an installation, I give you them in these links:

C++ Runtime 2013
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=40784&6B49FDFB-8E5B-4B07-BC31-15695C5A2143=1

C++ Runtime 2015
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=48145&6B49FDFB-8E5B-4B07-BC31-15695C5A2143=1

####################################################


==== VIDEO GAMEPLAY=============================

https://youtu.be/N3hN04ccB40


==== TIPS =============================

- You don't have to kill all Mocos because there is no limit of them!!
- Run!!!!
- Kill all Mocos as you can in your way to have more options of scape.
- Find your own strategy.
- Run!!!
- Enjoy it :)


===== THE TEAM =============================

Programming - Geck0
Art - Geck0
Game Design - Geck0
Cofee guy - Geck0




Can you beat the #LDTENERIFE record of 57 seconds? ;) ;)



Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#552Audio(Jam)2.92
#864Fun(Jam)2.70
#912Mood(Jam)2.52
#940Theme(Jam)2.97
#982Graphics(Jam)2.18
#987Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1044Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

EPIC!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01am

The game is very hard, but fun. I only survive 3-4 secs.. I think that with some fixes this project could be better, keep improving and learning ;-)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

So hard game guys!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

More like run like hell, you only have 5 seconds left haha maybe a flame-thrower type of weapon would be better to survive

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:31pm

This is an impossible game! xDD

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This game isn't for kids, this is for real men.

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

The most imposible game !!!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

The music is cool, but I'd like to hear it past the first riff. It's usually a bad sign when a survival game tends to last less than ten seconds. The difficulty of shooting while moving combined with the multiple streams of splitting enemies that will each eventually overwhelm sustained peashooter fire makes it extremely difficult to survive. I'd suggest starting the spawn rate a couple orders of magnitude lower and gradually increasing it. Also, have shooting while moving that isn't broken.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I managed 27 seconds by running while shouting "AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!" at the top of my lungs. Good fun, but a bit difficult. If you could use left mouse to determine your direction of movement, while still being able to turn around and shoot, that would be easier. Nice entry.

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

38 seconds is all I could manage before my arm died. Holding down left mouse seemed to work sometimes, but sometimes was slow to respond, so I went with clicking it, which is I assumed the correct way to play? Loved the music!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21pm

like colors

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice game! A little too impossible, but nice game!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Hahaha I like people who shout "AAAAAAAAAAAAAH" while try to run away xD I made it in a presential LD and many people did it haha. These reactions were the better part of this LD. And actually you can click on a far point and then turn around shooting, this si a nice tactic to slow them :P

sorle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

it feels like trying to shoot any of the mocos is a suicidal strategy. I'd like it better if you have some kind of health bar. instant death seems a bit to cuel.
otherwise well executed.
specially the music gets me pumped :D

fergarram says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:43am

Lol.... I DID IT!!! 56 SECONDS!!!!

fergarram says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44am

just a prank bro!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:38am

Congratulations on your first game!

Wow, that must be the hardest/shortest game ever! I made it to 6 seconds and killed 3 mocos! I'm really proud! :D

Good music!

(I'm not sure being able to use the mouse makes it a two-button game.)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

My best is 1:40 for 40 moko killed. At first I was thinking the game was too hard. But now I think it's totally part of his personality. I was happy to go throught the entire bgm. It's like an achievement.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

WOW! World Record xD It was 1:36 (as I know) Im proud to see your achievements :P

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:26am

This was an extremely difficult game. The idea was interesting, but lacked the execution. Don't think this is the kind of game that would work with 2 button controls.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:39am

Way to difficult and unfortunately not in a good way in my opinion.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:43am

21 seconds 0 kills

I do not know if it is just me but my player doesn't track mouse 1 to 1 then is a bit of a jerk movement like it is snapping to mouse cursor every .5 seconds. That issue is making shooting near impossible and a guaranteed death sentence even when 1 on 1. I can spin in circles flawlessly but shooting or moving ruins the tracking.


The difficulty is fun and I wont score based on the issue above for I believe it is just me. Great entry!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:50am

Can't last more that a couple seconds :-(

Stending says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Pretty hard .___.
It feels great and the music's pretty cool!
Congrats!

Zyow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:59pm

The music is cool but the game is really hard!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]