Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

sometimes cubs grow

by sergicollado - Compo Entry

A fox feeds his cubs


tools:
- godotengine
- krita
- reaper
- audacity

#update translations errors and sounds bugs
#12/16/2015 fix translation errors

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#30Mood4.09
#43Graphics4.32
#60Audio3.84
#124Overall3.76
#402Innovation3.27
#468Theme3.75
#476Humor2.37
#509Fun3.12

Comments

Quique says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Great job! ;)

akien says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Very nice atmosphere, and these foxes are really cute :D Kudos for making it open source and with Godot engine!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I like the audio, art style, and it has a wonderful atmosphere! A great mechanic and good game - I only wish you couldn't run off the entire screen!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

The clean, abstract aesthetic works really nicely and the game has a cool mood to it all.

Good stuff!

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Not bad! I struggled to find the food occasionally though. nuts were hidden out of sight, and i didnt expect the branches to be food, that got me stuck for a bit. Good job overall though!

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21am

The animations were amazing and I really loved the atmosphere of the whole game.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Simply amazing. Loved the art!

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Pretty nice game!

kmakai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04am

What a beautiful game! The sound effects when picking up and delivering food really fit into the music well and were a nice touch. You picked a really great style given the time constraint, it definitely paid off. Congrats!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very nice take on the theme. I think this games does well with its simple gameplay, graphics and story. And when I say simple, I mean it in a good way : this game is clean, cohesive and beautiful.

Great job.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:47am

The feels in this game. And the mood, very strong! You did a great job on story telling and atmosphere. Very nicely done! One thing though, the collisions feel a bit weird, too big or something.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful sound design and atmosphere, and kudos in particular on doing a voiceover. The art is very effective as well.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very beautiful game! The mood is amazing! keep up the good work with godot!!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Nice mood and audio, although picking up multiple items at once didn't sound too good.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice cohesive art style and mood, especially for a compo-entry. Gameplay-wise simple but functional. I accidentally touched those ice/ghost things? and it just moved me back to the cub tree. Was that an enemy or something else? Very nice.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Thanks for play my game, those ice/ghost are points to going back fast, this let me make a bigger map :)

maksibonus says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:50am

Nice job!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]