Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Father's Christmas Gift

by REIN1 - Jam Entry

This is short story about Christmas gifts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#746Mood(Jam)2.93
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#915Fun(Jam)2.60
#972Theme(Jam)2.87
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

It is very interesting, I was expecting some ending based on the choices though.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

Did not work for me

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51am

The mood and story are really immersive. The audio adds a lot to the story telling. There are a few mistakes here and there that sometimes break the magic (at least to me), but overall, it's a very pleasing experience. Maybe because I'm a young father... Great job.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

Did the choices even matter? It didn't feel like it. The music was repetetive and it was honestly quite boring. Also the weird grammar didn't help. Also doesnt fit any of the themes? Theres only one button? Anyway cool that you got a game uploaded in time but it was unfortunately not up to my standard so yeah.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Did not work for me on a mac!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

Pro:
+ Nice emotional game
+ Music is nice, although a bit repetitive
Con:
- Choices doesn't seem to have any effect in story

Nice job!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Okay, the grammar... needs work. If you're not a native English speaker, I can understand, but if so, you should probably get a native beta reader in the future.

Other than that, there isn't much here. I've played and enjoyed interactive stories this LD, but the story here is so simple, I'm essentially only clicking to get to the next part. However, the story is pretty cute and has some funny moments. There are places where I can tell that the writing would be good if the grammar got fixed. The cover art is nice, too.

The scrolling text is neat, but got boring after a while. I feel I would have had more patience if the story were just presented in non-animated blocks.

I don't want to sound too critical. Like I said, the idea is sweet, and there is some good comedy. You definitely have potential. Just, for the future, have a look at the grammar (or get a beta reader), and focus on making something with more player input.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Cool idea, could have used better presentation though. It seemed like you copy pasted lines for certain things, like the expensive gifts and pets, which was a little weird. It was sort of disappointing that the choices didn't affect the ending. Music was fitting!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]