Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nunsaram

by jangdan - Jam Entry

you are a snowman. explore freely your infinite world of winter. beware of the curious children, however.

nunsaram is the Korean word for snowman.


HOW TO PLAY
use only the left mouse button to move the snowman


EXPLANATIONS (ANSWERS TO SOME OF THE COMMENTS)
- you score for every tick you're alive
- you grow (the theme haha) for every thing you eat


--------NOTE; MUST READ!---------

Many bugs (the spawning bug, the no sound bug, and the no reason death bug) have been fixed with the post-jam version. Please check the link below.

The post-jam version doesn't have any new features, so it's probably okay for voting. So it is highly recommended over the old version on this page.

------------------------------------



the game, while laggy, works on mobile. mobile users should use the fullscreen mode.

code by
jangdan (http://jangdan.tumblr.com/)

art by
endwl (http://endwl.tumblr.com/)

sounds by both of us



hooray!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#439Graphics(Jam)3.60
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#547Audio(Jam)2.94
#550Humor(Jam)2.60
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#791Innovation(Jam)2.71
#791Fun(Jam)2.80
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

I really like the visual style of the game, it's really cohesive and cute. Love the snowman. I think the scoring might be broken, it didn't stop going up for me. I'm not sure exactly what the AI of the people were doing, but they didn't seem to chase me. It was fun for a bit, just chilling (pun not intended) and going around getting bigger. Eventually I started chasing people down since they weren't trying to stop me but I couldn't eat them and they didn't kill me at that point. I think it was intended that you're supposed to stand still so that the people dont detect you, and if they do, they chase you down, and I really like that idea.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02am

Really cute concept and a nice art-style to boot! The snowman's sad face when he got caught by the kids made me sad :(
Some kind of in-game tutorial would've been kinda useful (unless there was one and I missed it) because I spent a while pressing every button on my keyboard before realising I should use my mouse!

Overall a lovely concept, tied to the theme nicely and executed well. Thanks for the experience!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

I got around 1000 points. Nice little game with a fun concept. Those meddlesome kids :(.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

I really liked this! Love the pixel art, but the snowman death animation broke my heart. :(

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25am

Very cool concept and a lovely artstyle. Unfortunately at one point I lost without seeing a kid near me. They might have been behind the trees.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

Beautiful game. I could only play the web version, and there I couldn't quite see anything with regards to the theme. I'm not sure what picking up (or consuming) those sculptures and snowmen did either. I started heading up, and found that no one was there; just an empty expanse of snow.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Really cool game. It would be nice if the children following you eventually got bored or tired or something, so that you can escape them.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

sweet art. too web version too laggy even on pc.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41am

I really like the art! I wasn't really sure what was going on with the score and there was one time when I died for what seemed like no reason. My best score was 3106! I liked getting bigger, it would be nice if there were larger enemies that chase you once you get really big, and at that point you can eat the people. I don't mean to criticize but two things that I would change are to allow movement in eight directions, and to stop the stepping sounds once you die (also those got kind of annoying after a while of being chased). The music was good but it got repetitive after a while. This game is so good! I hope you work on it more! :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58am

I really liked how the piano notes gave a sudden jolt. More games need precise audio like that. It helped set the mood of the game way more, too.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11am

Really good game. I love the music and the visuals!

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14am

Haha, I just keep going one side and it human is too slow they can not got me. However the graphic is good

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22am

Oh my gosh so many children! Haha fun game, I love snowmen. I do agree that it would be nice if you could get the children off your tail somehow. Overall nice job! :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31am

Nice piano music. You need to be able to eat those little kids!

Baransu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44am

Really awesome audio. And pixel art is amazing :D

Jace239 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

Cute graphics and gameplay. I thought the concept was interesting, but there were a few things that hampered my enjoyment. First, the music was painful for me to listen due, though that may be my person taste. Second, the behavior of the children was confusing. I expected them to be a threat once the exclamation mark showed up, but they take a long time to turn red and actually start chasing you. I also may or may not have found a bug because at one point (before dying to children) I died when (it looked like) I just ran into one of the dead snowmen. I assumed (incorrectly) that they caused my death.

That aside, it's still a well-made game, I just have a few issues with it. Good job both of you!

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

Really funny and interesting! Well done!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23am

The graphics and sound of this game is top notch. I love it! The game play is solid and fun. It would be nice if I can see the visual range of the "enemies" so that I can choose my route carefully. Right now it seems like it is a circular range, even though they are not facing me, they can still see me. I think a cone range would make it better. Also It would be nice if the game has levels because right now it is just keep growing and there is no incentive for the player to continue playing. Anyways it is a very well made game! Well done!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19am

Really interesting game, I randomly died at 1020 something points but I noticed that you said this is a bug. I also noticed that going all the way left, there isn't any children. Not too sure if that is a bug or I just got lucky. Great game though

Weloxux says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Cute little game, loved the graphics.

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

This game was cute, and I liked the sort of horror piano music, though I do wish it were more constant rather than just a few notes here and there. Also, it would have been nice to have some goal other than just getting points for being alive. Maybe eating the kids or whatever as you get bigger would be a better goal than just points for being alive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]